a doll cake: even my sister might be impressed

November 17, 2007 at 9:45 pm 8 comments

Here it is, the doll cake I made for my daughter’s 3rd birthday tomorrow. Not too bad, considering the dinosaur cake I made in the past. When my husband saw my headline, he said he doubted that my sister would be impressed. I’m not sure if he was serious or not. My sister has talent when it comes to food looking good–me, I just aim for it tasting good. I do not have the patience for decorating cakes. Now if you want to see a masterpiece, check out this beautiful doll cake.

doll-cake.jpg

 

Yesterday, I baked the cakes (2 round cakes and for the upper most layer, a cake baked in my biggest pyrex mixing bowl) so they would be ready to assemble and frost today while my daughter was taking a nap. I had intended to make the frosting purple. Didn’t I learn somewhere that red and blue make purple? I had my buttercream frosting whirring in my stand mixer and I started squeezing drops of food coloring. First red, then blue. I watched in horror as my pretty pink frosting turned gray once I put some blue in there. Oh no, red and blue were not making purple. I put more and more red in until it came out an acceptable color, although it’s definitely not the shade of pink I would have chosen.

Oh wait, doesn’t that look like the color I painted my bedroom walls when I was a teenager?

I didn’t think it would be very hard to find a doll to stick into the cake. Boy was I wrong! For about a month now, I’ve been browsing down the toy aisle wherever I happen to be shopping. Going into this venture, I knew that I definitely didn’t want anything Barbie, Bratz, or Disney. I didn’t think it would be too hard to find just a pretty plain doll. But no, these are the only things that the stores have. A plain Barbie runs $4.99 and I was willing to pay $15 for this birthday present. I’d love an American girl doll, but they are of course, out of my price range. I spied a line of Wizard the Oz dolls (made by Barbie). I was going to get the Dorothy doll, but it was $24.99. Sorry, just too much. I saw some wonderful Madame Alexander dolls, but they were $40. whew! Sure were pretty, though, and perfect for the occasion. Cheetah dolls? What the heck? Is this a made up rock group or something? And how about the Hannah Montana doll? Not happening. I don’t want fake outrageous blue and fuschia hair so Strawberry Shortcake and her Blueberry friend were out, plus they stink. Have you ever smelled one of those?

So I went to a craft store. I knew they carried torso dolls for making cakes and I decided to just get one of those even thought it meant I wouldn’t have a doll for the birthday present. But when I saw them, I just couldn’t bring myself to buy one of these unclothed torsos on a stick. Because it didn’t have legs, it just seemed too weird. I didn’t want one of those in my cupboard when I was done (I’d have to save it for next year) and I didn’t want my little miss playing with it.

I was about to give in and just get a plain Barbie (they did revamp her figure a few years ago so she’s not as offensive as she once was) when I thought of going to the Christian bookstore. They would have a doll that wasn’t merchandised with something else (unless you count the Bible.) If I remember correctly, I could get a “heroes of the faith” action figure. Maybe they would have the good judge Debra.  When I went to the store, it was empty. When did it close? TJ Maxx was right next door so I went in there. And voila, I found this sweet little Trixieville doll right next to the scantily clad Barbie (I mean she was seriously wearing something you’d see in the lingerie department; who is this doll supposed to be for anyway?)

The best part was that this blonde number with fairy wings was only $3. Sold.

 

Entry filed under: baking, food. Tags: .

the ugliest cake contest fabulous sausage stuffing

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beth in TX  |  November 18, 2007 at 8:28 am

    A wonderful, wonderful cake. And you should have gone to the cake aisle when at the craft store and bought Wilton paste. That is what you use to color icing, not food coloring drops. And you only need a bit, like dip a toothpick in and out and then put it in your frosting. Make sure to seal them back up tight and then you can use them to decorate other cakes down the road. We’ll make a cake decorator out of you yet. And you would think that for all my knowledge, I would do a better job with my own. 😉

    When I saw the cake, my first question was going to be “where did you find that doll?” because she’s not offensive. I gave in on Barbies and then was constantly finding them in the middle of the floor, unclothed and chest up. I reinstated my ban. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. teatimewithliz  |  November 19, 2007 at 9:00 am

    Your sister is impressed! 🙂
    Guinever, I’m so glad you made the doll cake for Mary, I bet she loved it.

    Yes, that shade of pink does look rather familiar. I’m sorry that you had trouble mixing the color. I could have given you the same suggestion as Beth in TX. Another practice that I’ve developed in the frosting color department, is to mix up the colors in a spoonful of the frosting first just to be sure, even when I’m using the wonderful Wilton paste.

    Reply
  • 3. Barbara in MI  |  November 19, 2007 at 10:40 am

    THat’s great! Just last week my DD and I were looking at pics of the doll cake I made her. I tried purple, too, but it turned out more gray! I guess the moral of the story is: If you want purple, buy purple food coloring!!

    Reply
  • 4. Pam in SE MI (TOG loose threads)  |  November 19, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    That cake turned out beautifully!!! You should feel proud Guinever. I’m not going to show it to my kids because they’ll get ideas for fantastic cakes they want me to make and I am the queen of making a basic rectangular cake fit any theme my kids can think up. I think that’s talent enough.

    How did Mary like it??

    Reply
  • 5. Heather  |  November 19, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    That’s a beautiful cake, Guinever! And I love the doll, too. I’m no fan of Barbies and Bratz either, so I’ve been wondering what sort of nice looking doll I could find when my baby girl is old enough to want one.

    Reply
  • 6. karla  |  November 21, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    Congratulations, Guinever. You presented something beautiful to Mary on her celebration day.

    Reply
  • 7. Alisa Beatty  |  November 23, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    I’m impressed!! Can’t wait to see the next creation you make for the boys.

    Reply
  • 8. Maxine  |  November 29, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    That is a very cool cake! Why not make me one! 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.