awesome turkey breakfast sausage plus Wed and Thur menus

November 5, 2009 at 10:21 pm Leave a comment

I’ve never made homemade sausage before, but I was browsing Nourishing Traditions, one of my favorite cookbooks, and the recipe seemed easy enough.

Here’s my version that I made below which I adapted to serve the needs of my son with multiple allergies. Another son called the sausage, “awesome.”

one pound ground turkey
1 small onion, chopped
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp oregano
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp basil
1/2 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp sage
2 tsp sea salt
1 T ground flax seed
2 T oats

Mix all ingredients very well. Chill. Form in to patties and cook.

I cooked about half of it for breakfast and then saved the other half to use in stuffing for the cornish game hens we had for lunch. Super duper delicious.

Wednesday meals

Breakfast
eggs (our family used 12 today)
english muffins
milk

Lunch
homemade chicken soup with carrots and peas
spelt bread
oyster crackers and rice cakes for J

Dinner
Todd took the leftover shepherd’s pie
the rest of us had leftover buffet

snacks
oatmeal cookies
bars for Jackson
apples

Thursday meals

breakfast
breakfast turkey sausage
eggs and english muffins
milk

lunch
“personal chickens”
sausage made with turkey sausage oats and rice cakes
salad with carrots

dinner
cheese roll-ups
soup for J
Todd took leftover potatoes and chicken to work

snacks
oatmeal cookies
apples
raisins

Do you want to do the $100 grocery challenge with me?  Read more about it.

Entry filed under: $100 grocery challenge, food allergies, recipes, wheat free. Tags: , , , .

2nd batch of grocery receipts wet wrapping saved my son’s skin; it’s a miracle

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

