4th grader asks, “doesn’t the government know there’s no lead in books?

January 8, 2009 at 12:39 pm 3 comments

My name is Alex and I am nine years old and homeschooled. My mom told me about the new law that has to have every new toy tested for lead whether it’s been used or not.

This means that I can’t take a couple dollars anymore and buy a used toy or book from Goodwill or a garage sale and my mom won’t be able to donate our clothes and toys to Goodwill anymore.

My mom buys me, my brothers, and sister lots of used books from the library sale every summer and also from other homeschooling moms online. When this new law starts next month, she wont’ be able to do that anymore. Doesn’t the government know there is no lead in books?

Please make this law stop.

Sincerely,
Alex

We e-mailed this to our representatives in Congress. Senator Bunning, Senator McConnell and Representative Ben Chandler.

Entry filed under: family, homeschooling, kids, politics. Tags: , , , .

my newest discovery: eczema caused by detergent adventures in homemade cleaners

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bobbi  |  January 8, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Good for you Alex! I have also sent a letter to our state representatives and congressmen. I think it is a silly law. Hopefully our letters will have some influence on our lawmakers.

    Reply
  • 2. Tiffany  |  January 8, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Way to go Alex! It is so important for us to let our representatives know how we think about an issue. Haley and Audrey will be writing similar letters. Thanks for the good example and for spreading the word on this silly law.

    Reply
  • 3. Blayne  |  January 9, 2009 at 10:06 am

    http://www.kval.com/news/37241774.html
    good news, maybe, this morning?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

