kmart just lost me for life because of a penny

December 6, 2008 at 11:04 pm 6 comments

In this week’s KMart sales insert in the newspaper, one of the specials says,

$5 off any toy at KMart when you buy $20 worth of Huggies, Pull-ups or Goodnites! Limit one (1) $5 savings per transaction. Limited quantities. No rain checks. See store for details.

According to my receipt, I purchased $32.97 worth of Huggies products so I more than qualified for the $5 off a toy. I picked out a truck for my 2 year old to put in his stocking. The price on the toy was $4.99. I also happened to spend $142.00 while there that day. (not necessarily relevant to this story but just to show you that I do shop at KMart.) The boys have been wanting fleece blankets and I found some for only $12.99 each.

Tonight I went back to the store to return some jeans and also to get the $5.00 off my toy because it didn’t show up on my receipt. The customer service employee couldn’t override the computer and told me that the way their system works is that because I didn’t spend $5 on a toy, it didn’t take $5 off.

I totally understood and asked to speak to a manager. ( I know how computers work and don’t have a problem with that.) I thought a manager could refund me the $4.99 I spent since my purchase qualified me for $5 off a toy.

Nope. The manager told me that the system wasn’t set up like that. I didn’t spend $5 on a toy, therefore the system couldn’t give me $5 off. I replied that I knew that as a manager, he could over-ride the system.

He said that I was right, that he could override the system. Then he asked me if I wanted him to go against the sales flyer.

I told him actually, I do. It’s a penny. A penny. You can give me $4.99 back.

Is this guy for real? Is he really a MANAGER of a big box store? He’s asking me if I want to go AGAINST the sales flyer.

Should this guy really be a manager of a big store? I’m thinking not.

I told him that it was a penny and that he had just lost a customer and maybe lost more than one customer. And I walked out the door. He told me that he would refund the money, but I was not turning back. It was too late.

Remember not too long ago when the KMart on Richmond Road closed (together with a whole slew of others across the country?) Well, with this managerial higher than thou, letter of the law attitude, this Nicholasville Road KMart in Lexington, KY is going to go the same way.

Closed.

When I explained the scenario to my husband, he said, “So if the toy had cost $5.00 or $5.01, it would have been free? He’s arguing over a penny?”

Right. A penny.

Entry filed under: christmas, rants. Tags: , , .

kmart, here I come, double coupons up to $2 happy 4th birthday Miss Mary

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Whitney in KY  |  December 7, 2008 at 12:00 am

    G,
    This same thing happened to me. K mart has THE WORST customer service anywhere from here to Alaska.
    Whitney

    Reply
  • 2. Bobbi's Book Nook  |  December 7, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Just one more reason I don’t shop at K-Mart! I also don’t do Wal-Mart.

    Sorry you had problems – for a manager to argue over one penny is totally silly!

    Reply
  • 3. Lizette  |  December 7, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    I haven’t been in Kmart for years. I didn’t like that there wasn’t a stated price on items back then. Also they rarely had more than one or two checkouts open. Long lines aren’t appealing. Sad that they did this over a penny. Hope you have a nice Christmas!

    Reply
  • 4. Kathy  |  December 7, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    I guess Mr. Manager found out just a leetle too late that the customer is always right. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Alisa Beatty  |  December 7, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Kmart’s parent company is Sears. Fior me, that completely explains the awful customer service.

    Reply
  • 6. Uncle Sam  |  December 9, 2008 at 9:01 am

    A penny saved, a penny earned.

    Remember when I worked with you one Christmas break at the retail store in the mall? I didn’t even last a day. I was ready to pull my hair out after just a couple hours of dealing with Christmas shoppers. All this time, I’ve wondered how you did it.

    Here’s another story of someone who problably should find a different career. My solution is…. internet shopping.

    it’s the way to go. thanks for the story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

