do they have to wear opposite color ties and other debate comments from a fourth grader

October 15, 2008 at 8:43 pm 8 comments

I was getting bored after a few minutes of the debate and I was going to tune into Michelle Malkin’s live blogging of the debate which is always good for some laughs.  But then my nine year old son kept making comments that were cracking me up so I grabbed a pen and paper instead. (wish I had a laptop)

Oh, is this the debate? Can I watch it? What’s a debate? They’re not arguing. I’ve read debates in Freddy the Pig--several debates in which Charles the Rooster whooped the tar out of his opponents. The people running for president weren’t very good talkers so they hired Charles to do the talking for them.

My joke book says that debate is what you put on the end of a hook to catch a fish.

Remember when Sarah Palin and Joe Biden had their debate? Was it like this?

Are you writing all this down so you can tell Dad?

Looks at me for awhile instead of the television.

Lessons in dictation.

Those sure are comfortable chairs they’re sitting in.  I wonder if they’re massage chairs.

Oh now it’s getting to a debate, they’re interrupting each other.

If they ever played Electrocity, they’d sure have a lot of unhappy people.

I don’t know if they’ve ever played Electrocity in the first place.

Mom, it looks like Senator McCain is writing everything down that Obama says. Look at that big pile of paper.

That’s funny.  How come Obama is wearing a blue and white tie and McCain is wearing a red and white tie? Do they have to wear opposite colored ties? And that other guy [Bob Schieffer] is wearing a red, white and blue tie.

Vigorous.  Hmmm. Not that vigorous if you ask me.

Leaves the room and comes back with a dictionary. (this is in response to Obama saying this is a vigorous debate.)

Of course, you don’t agree; it’s a debate!

Mom, are there any people in that building with them? They sure are being quiet.

Mom, they’re starting to talk about running mates.

When are they going to move to the war?

Mom, what does he mean by Joe?  What does he mean by Joe? Joe Biden?

I answer his question:  Joe the plumber…middle class Americans.

Are we middle class Americans?

Mom, Obama said that Joe the plumber wouldn’t have to pay for his health insurance.

Can I play Electrocity?  Why doesn’t it have anything on electrocity where you have to be elected first?

apparently thinking back a few minutes:

Joe, I will tell you right now, how much insurance will you have to pay for?  Zero. And then McCain looked surprised.

In other offices beside the presidency, and I’m wondering for no particular reason, how old do you have to be?

What does he mean, “a very healthy discussion.” Well, it’s healthy for Joe.

Maybe the closing debate thingies are going to be longer than the debate itself.

What’s the Great Depression?

Of course, you’re asking us for our vote. That’s the point of the election.

Mom, what is the lowest level of government?

probably city council

So then you can get promoted up to mayor and Senator… I mean elected.

Entry filed under: election, entertaining, homeschooling, kids, politics. Tags: , , .

some wedding wishes for my sister hockey mom song to the tune of Redneck woman

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alisa Beatty  |  October 15, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Out of the mouth of babes. . .

    Reply
  • […] do they have to wear opposite color ties and other debate comments from a fourth grader « at home w… […]

    Reply
  • 3. uncle sam  |  October 16, 2008 at 6:20 am

    Alex,

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts of the debate. You’re thinking about big issues now and I’m proud of you. Justremember their is a difference between a demacracy and a republic.

    I liked all your questions and comments but wanted to say something about one.

    The presidential debates are more like a court of law. The presidential candidates plead their case to a judge or moderator, with the whole show being performed for the jury.the jury is supposed to be impartial and listen to both arguements without saying anything. The judge makes sure the prosecuture and defense attorney follow the rules and allow the other to speak.
    The the jury, who is said to be those who have not already decided who they will vote for, has the opportunity to hear both candidates answer questions concisely while giving their competitor a chance to hold them accountable for what they say.(The cross examination)

    The reporters, like your dad, take on themselves the duty to make sure everyone told the truth.

    The ironic thing about all this is alex, at least for now, we are still a republic and not a demacracy.

    May God himself judge the hearts and minds and actions of those who would represent us.

    Uncle Sam.

    Reply
  • 4. stephanie  |  October 16, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Oh. My. Goodnes. That is hilarious. I think he knows more about politics than I do.

    Reply
  • 5. Gma VC  |  October 16, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Alex, Your comments on the debate were very interesting. More interesting than the debate, actually. It is too bad they don’t take lessons from Freddie the Pig on how to conduct a debate instead of just saying the same old things they say at every campaign stop. Keep listening and asking questions. Good for you!!
    Gma VC

    Reply
  • 7. Karla  |  October 23, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Wow, Alex! I wish I could have been with you and your mom for the debates. I like to hear how you’re thinking…I hope we all will use our brains while we listen like you do!

    Karla

    Reply
  • 8. Steph  |  November 30, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Wow! I was warned that 4 year olds ask a lot of questions but no one ever told me that 9 year olds ask more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

