mmm…rice shreds for people who can’t have normal cheese

September 24, 2008 at 10:16 pm 3 comments

I was thrilled to find rice shreds at Whole Foods Market. Up until today, I haven’t found any dairy substitute for my son with extensive food allergies. Most are soy based which he is also allergic too. I think that perhaps going dairy free has been the hardest for him. The only reason I say that is because I’ve caught him with the asiago cheese, sour cream, cream cheese, and milk. (he’s a toddler who just acquired the new skill of opening the fridge when no one is looking.)

He does drink rice and oat beverages but he obviously longs for cow’s milk that I took away from him a couple months ago when his allergies were diagnosed.

The real test came when I gave him the rice shreds and he ate it and wanted more. I bought the cheddar flavor (not pictured) and put them on some rice tortillas. The rice shreds don’t melt as quickly in the microwave as regular cheese does and it gives off an undesirable odor.

I tasted one little shred and didn’t like it, but I don’t need to like it. My little allergy guy needs to like them and he does!

Allergy note: these do contain casein, milk protein. But they are lactose and dairy free. (soy, wheat, corn free also.)

Entry filed under: allergies, food allergies. Tags: , .

that’s how you save money on your grocery bill; why didn’t I think of that? just a few wedding pictures

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stephanie  |  September 25, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Have you looked into raw cow’s milk? I THINK that some people can tolerate raw, but not pasteurized. But it has been a way long time since I read about it and I may be totally wrong. If you are interested, I can tell you where we get ours.

    Reply
  • 2. Heather  |  September 25, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Hello,
    My son is allergic to soy,peanuts,eggs,wheat and dairy. I started a website http://www.spewdfree.com and I thought you might be interested because all the recipes are free of soy,peanut,eggs,wheat and dairy.
    Thanks,
    Heather

    Reply
  • 3. joel  |  September 27, 2008 at 10:53 am

    have you tried raw milk? if you have access, it might be worth a try, it keeps the organisms that can digest the milk properly. anyway just an idea from a crazy cousin in texas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

