thoughts on Paul and Palin

September 10, 2008 at 7:21 am 2 comments

For those of you who have been reading my blog for awhile, you might remember that I sported a homeschoolers for Ron Paul button prominently in my side bar for several months.  By the time I voted in  Kentucky’s Mary primary, he had already withdrawn out of the race, but I still voted for Ron Paul, cringing that McCain was the front runner.

One of the reasons I like Ron Paul is that he is for smaller government. I don’t want the government involved in my personal life, and Ron Paul is all about shrinking the government and getting back to running this country according to the Constitution.  He’s holding a press conference this morning to make an announcement.

The Republican Party didn’t let him in on the primary debates and kept him out of the convention.  This article says its because he’s against the current war.

I really like Sarah Palin’s politics in the same way that I like Ron Paul’s politics. The thing that Palin did that Paul hasn’t been able to do is to get a national audience. She was on primetime at the RNC with nearly 37 million viewers according to Nielsen.

I still don’t like McCain for President.  Palin may not influence McCain, but this election has put conservatism on a national stage. And that’s a huge beginning for change. She’s not at the top of the ticket in 2008, but she could be in 2012.  Baby steps. We have to take this one step at a time.

I was semi-serious when I suggested to my husband a couple days ago, how about Palin, Paul in 2012?

I’m anxious to see what Ron Paul is going to say in his press conference.

Entry filed under: election, homeschooling, politics. Tags: , , .

summer 2008 Nebraska slideshow too cute video of Piper Palin

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathy  |  September 10, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Guinever,

    You may like the Real Choice blog (http://realchoice.blogspot.com) — not only is the blogger pro-Palin and has lots of links to various info and mis-information about her, but the blog itself is an anti-abortion blog.

    Reply
  • 2. Dee  |  September 16, 2008 at 1:09 am

    I’m not a big fan of Ron Paul but I’m not a big fan of McCain either. Thats why Palin has been such a HUGE FACTOR in this race. Had McCain picked anyone else save J.C. Watts I may not have voted for him and if I did I would’ve held my nose and voted but I would not have campaigned for him, I wouldn’t have put a sign in my yard and I wouldn’t have put a bumper sticker on my car. And I am a very loyal Republican. I worked my tail off for Bush in 2004. But I despise McCain, but like Rush says, he now gets to be called McBrilliant for picking Palin ;-)). My hope is that she will be the new leader of the Conservatives and the Republican Party whether or not McCain wins in November.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

