what’s the difference between a hockey mom and a pit bull? and other lines from Sarah Palin’s speech

September 3, 2008 at 11:06 pm 2 comments

Here are just a few lines from Governor Sarah Palin’s speech at the Republican National Convention.

Before I became governor of the great state of Alaska, I was mayor of my hometown.

And since our opponents in this presidential election seem to look down on that experience, let me explain to them what the job involves.

I guess a small-town mayor is sort of like a “community organizer,” except that you have actual responsibilities. I might add that in small towns, we don’t quite know what to make of a candidate who lavishes praise on working people when they are listening, and then talks about how bitterly they cling to their religion and guns when those people aren’t listening.

While I was at it, I got rid of a few things in the governor’s office that I didn’t believe our citizens should have to pay for. That luxury jet was over the top. I put it on eBay.

..and when those Styrofoam Greek columns are hauled away to some studio lot…(referring to the props used in Obama’s speech during the DNC)

Take the maverick out of the senate and put him in the White House.

Some politicians use change to promote their careers. Others, like John McCain use their careers to promote change.

There is only one man in this election who has every really fought for you in places where winning means survival and losing means death.

As a chief executive, I can assure you that (vetoes) work. Alaska has a surplus and I did half a billion dollars in vetoes.

You will have a friend, an advocate in the white house.” (addressing parents of children with special needs.)

I’ve learned quickly, these past few days, that if you’re not a member in good standing of the Washington elite, then some in the media consider a candidate unqualified for that reason alone. But here’s a little news flash for all those reporters and commentators: I’m not going to Washington to seek their good opinion — I’m going to Washington to serve the people of this country.

What’s the difference between a hockey mom and a pit bull?  Lipstick.

Entry filed under: politics. Tags: , , , , , .

by choosing Palin as VP, McCain is courting evangelicals and it’s working McCain ignores homeschoolers

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathy  |  September 5, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    I loved her speech! Not only was it flawlessly given, but whoever wrote it deserves some sort of prize! I know that there have been some mutterings about the governor not writing her own speech, but that’s idiotic. Everybody has speech-writers, and it doesn’t diminish from the evening’s accomplishment one bit! She did an awesome job.

    Reply
  • 2. Paschal  |  September 10, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Palin for President!!! McCain can go to HELL!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

