by choosing Palin as VP, McCain is courting evangelicals and it’s working

September 1, 2008 at 8:09 am 3 comments

So who exactly is Senator McCain courting with this choice of Sarah Palin as vice president?  More than anything else, I think McCain is seeking the religious right, the ultra-conservative,  the pro-lifers, and those who support marriage between a man and a woman. With those who want to shrink government.

I absolutely adore this photo of Sarah holding her baby in a sling while working as governor.  This is my kind of gal! In light of my last post, “my vote is for the breastfeeding hockey mom of 5, ” I just want to clarify that my would-be vote for McCain is not because Palin is a woman or that she is a mother who she breastfeeds.  The republican candidates would get my vote in November because of Palin’s politics.

But I’m still undecided as to what I will do in November. Would Palin really influence McCain all that much? Probably not. I think that McCain choosing Palin was a brilliant political move in order to bring back the evangelicals to the Republican party who he had lost in the Primary.  Apparently it’s working.

Dobson likes Palin and endorses McCain

Earlier this year when it was apparent that McCain would win the Republican nomination, I was disheartened. I didn’t want to vote for him. Just too far “left” for me on too many issues.  I know other political conservatives, other evangelicals felt the same way. James Dobson went on the record as saying he would not vote for McCain. With Sarah Palin added to the ticket, Dobson has changed his mind.

In a remarkable reversal, James Dobson, the influential founder of Focus on the Family, enthusiastically endorsed John McCain for president Friday afternoon in a response to McCain’s choice of Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin as his running mate. “A lot of people were praying, and I believe Sarah Palin is God’s answer,” Dobson said at lunchtime meeting of conservative leaders in Minneapolis.

“Conditions change, and they changed radically today,” said Dobson. “I’ve not been so excited about a political candidate since Ronald Reagan.”

Could Sarah be the next Deborah?

Even reformed pastor and author Doug Wilson is considering flipping his previous position of a no vote for the John McCain. Considering, I said. He hasn’t made up his mind yet, but he’s comparing Sarah Palin to Deborah.

But as a biblical absolutist, and not a simple traditionalist, I also want to make room for the occasional Deborah. Life is funny, and you should remember that in the Bible Deborah was the dame who upstaged a fellow named Barak. Kinda spooky when you think about it..

Entry filed under: christianity, election, politics. Tags: , , , , .

my vote is for the breastfeeding hockey mother of 5 what’s the difference between a hockey mom and a pit bull? and other lines from Sarah Palin’s speech

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. loomisnews  |  September 1, 2008 at 10:31 am

    I’m very exciited, and couldn’t be happier that he chose her!

    Reply
  • 3. Joan  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Guinever, I will not be voting for McCain-Palin for a number of reasons which I won’t belabor here … although I appreciate and applaud everyone who does vote, period, even if it’s not for “my” candidate. (That’s the political science major in me, I guess – lol – I just love election day!)
    I also applaud you, for your willingness to discuss your political views, and your encouragement of others to discuss and debate their views here in this forum.
    Now, having said that, the real reason for my post: although you and I are very different in many fundamental ways, I too have been thinking about Palin’s choice to run when she clearly has so much on her plate, familially-speaking. (If it’s not a word, it ought to be.) My mom and I were discussing it tonight – the fact that even though it may be good training for her life to come, poor Bristol Palin was left tending baby Trig while her mother – TRIG’S mother – was busy basking in the political limelight the other day. (Some will say holding the baby was an attempt to shield Bristol’s growing belly, but that seems a little silly – “hiding” something that was clearly going to come to light sooner rather than later.) But that brings us back to the basic question of, who is going to raise the Palin children if McCain-Palin win the day come November? Bristol? She’s only 17, and clearly has her own issues to deal with. Todd Palin? What does he do, job-wise, I mean? I haven’t seen it mentioned anywhere, but is he now, or is he willing to become, a stay-at-home dad? Do they have nannies and in-home caregivers now, who will move with them from Alaska to DC? Or have her political aspirations clouded Palin’s thinking?
    (Before working moms everywhere read this post and respond with condemnation – I AM A WORKING MOM. However, I have modified my work and my life to accomodate my child, and had I been unable to do so, I would like to think that I would have either not had a child or not kept my job.)
    Anywho, that’s my two cents. :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

