my vote is for the breastfeeding hockey mother of 5

August 29, 2008 at 4:40 pm 18 comments

Move over, sisterhood of the traveling pantsuits. Here’s a woman not afraid to wear a skirt, able to govern a state and be pregnant at the same time,  plus she breastfeeds and brings her baby to work.

Where has McCain been hiding this VP choice?  For all the Republicans who were disappointed that McCain won the Republican ticket, Alaskan governor Sarah Palin might be what excites conservatives to get back into caring about this election.

I’m talking about myself here.

Self-proclaimed “average hockey mom in Alaska,” Palin is the woman who might drive all the soccer moms to the polls.   Christian, pro-life, hunter, fisher, former beauty queen, lifetime member of the NRA, mother of 5, mother of a soldier–just like middle America.

Former mayor, current governor, former head of the Alaskan oil commission: these three jobs give her experience and qualify her for the job of VP.

What I’m thinking right now is how can a big government, politics as usual man like McCain choose a woman like Palin to be his running mate and why did she accept it?  They are nothing alike so that’s why I think McCain chose her. Sarah Palin appeals to the conservative side of the Republican party. He chose her so voters like me might take another look at his quest for the presidency.

Her youngest son has Down’s Syndrome. Not only is she pro-life, she lives the pro-life message. She didn’t abort her baby when it would have been acceptable in some people’s eyes to do so.

Her agenda as former mayor of Wasilla, Alaska was to “stop wasteful spending and cut property taxes and put the people first.” Now that’s what I’m talking about!  Let’s bring that agenda to the national level.

As current governor of Alaska, Palin would like to build a pipeline which will “help lead America to energy independence.” Let’s drill and find some oil.

In her speech to accept the vice president candidacy , Palin artfully acknowledged the women who have come before in presidential campaigns: After mentioning Geraldine Ferraro, she said,  “I can’t begin this great effort without honoring the achievements of Senator Hillary Clinton who showed such determination and grace in her presidential campaign.”

Sarah Palin is the candidate who makes John McCain look good with her youth, energy, and the ability to get things done.  As far as the criticism of her having no experience, all the Dems need to do is look to their very own presidential candidate to see a lack of executive experience. But please, let’s remember that Palin is not running for top office and shouldn’t be compared to Obama, the other top office candidate.

I can only imagine what a few female democrats are thinking of the current presidential tickets. How can I vote for Obama when there’s a woman somewhere else in the ballot?  We need to get a woman in Washington. Why didn’t our guy pick a woman too? Why didn’t Hillary win the presidential ticket? Why didn’t Obama pick Hillary to be his running mate?  Picking Biden with 30 years experience in Washington does nothing for our cause to get a woman in office. hmm. Can I vote for McCain/Palin? There’s a woman on the ticket.  She’s a working mom. I’m a working mom. I might go vote for McCain/Palin. I have no idea if there are women somewhere thinking this, but there could be.

Before today, it was doubtful that I was going to pull the lever in November for McCain (trust me, my friends, it was certain that I would not vote for Obama), but now I’m thinking about the McCain/ Palin ticket afterall.

All quotes taken from Palin’s acceptance speech for Vice Presidential candidate.

Entry filed under: election, politics. Tags: , , , , , .

we can see better by choosing Palin as VP, McCain is courting evangelicals and it’s working

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jim  |  August 29, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    I’m a conservative and you shouldnt play the gender card

    Reply
  • 2. jonolan  |  August 29, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    One important correction and clarification:

    Sarah Palin was appointed Ethics Commissioner of the Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission. She resigned from this post – loosing a 6 figure salary – in protest over what she called the “lack of ethics” of fellow Alaskan Republican leaders.

    After she resigned, she exposed the state Republican Party’s chairman, Randy Ruedrich, one of her fellow Oil & Gas commissioners, who was accused of doing work for the party on public time, and supplying a lobbyist with a sensitive e-mail.

    This Lady has more plain guts, backbone and ethics than we probably deserve.

    Reply
  • 3. phdinparenting  |  August 29, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    FWIW, I am pro-choice, but still wouldn’t have an abortion if my baby had down’s syndrome.

    Reply
  • 4. Kathy  |  August 29, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    I think we’re like-minded in this as well! McCain is not conservative enough for me (so obviously either of the Democrats were out long ago), so I was pretty sure I couldn’t vote for him. It’s odd — I usually don’t think that the VP candidate makes that much of a difference; but in this case, the only way I’d vote for McCain is if he picked a staunch conservative. I’m still not sure what I’m going to do, but at least this puts me squarely in the “undecided” category, instead of almost definitely voting for a 3rd-party candidate or none at all.

    I’ll have to read more about her (finding out that she’s a hockey mom may help my husband be more pro-McCain/Palin), but I can now at least see myself voting for them this November.

    Reply
  • 5. Shelley Ferrell  |  August 29, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    I was hoping you would post about this. I am as excited as you. I care about the election again!

    Reply
  • 6. guinever  |  August 29, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Jim,
    McCain “played the gender card” and I’m just giving my opinion of it.

    For PhD,
    Glad to hear that you wouldn’t kill your own baby. Except you still think it’s ok to kill other babies. I just don’t get it!

    Reply
  • 7. Laurie  |  August 30, 2008 at 1:19 am

    The other day I was incredibly disheartened when I heard that McCain was leaning towards one of two pro-abortion guys for the VP spot. For me it’s not a male or female issue but everything else. Boy was I elated today when I found out she was on the ticket. Pro-life…yea! And you are getting me more excited. Breastfeeding her baby at work? Now that’s a woman who gets the job done!! And I kept telling the family that she’s pretty too! With all the yuck in politics, it’s preferable to see strength, integrity, wisdom and intelligence, but it’s kind of nice to see a pleasant face too. 😉 Her smile doesn’t look pasted on like some people’s do. Hmmmm….
    Blessings,
    Laurie

    Reply
  • 8. Laurie  |  August 30, 2008 at 1:22 am

    Oh, btw, I did see the gender strategy in this. I was talking to my family about it this afternoon.
    Blessings,
    Laurie

    Reply
  • 9. goodtimepolitics  |  August 30, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Gender in what? Like race with the democrats and Obama? Don’t make me laugh! This American will vote for the McCain ticket and yes I’m a democrat! Palin has more to give than Obama or Biden, she has a better record on the issues! The liberals don’t like to hear that, so my advice to them is to get on their knees to Obama! 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Michelle  |  August 30, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    I think this was a brilliant pick for McCain, and it has completely energized me again! So much so, I’m on my way this weekend to MN for the RNC!

    For months, I’ve covered this race as a reporter in Chicago, and read news story after news story about the “Rock Star” likability of Barack Obama. Well, watch out…because the Republicans have finally plugged in their guitars and are ready to rock!

    Reply
  • 11. Alisa Beatty  |  August 30, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Don’t play the gender card? Every special interest card in the world has been played and you’re critized for cheering on a woman as VP? Thpppt to him!

    Go get ’em, Guinever. I’m with you. I was so completely unenthused about this election (merely planning to “vote against” not “vote for”) and now I can pull that lever with gusto.

    Reply
  • 12. Amy  |  August 30, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Love it!

    “For all the Republicans who were disappointed that McCain won the Republican ticket, Alaskan governor Sarah Palin might be what excites conservatives to get back into caring about this election.”

    Speaks for me as well. I could actually be energized for the election now.

    Reply
  • 13. Hilary  |  August 30, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Ditto many of the previous posters. McCain finally made a smart choice for once.

    Reply
  • 14. Karla  |  August 31, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    I am pumped!!!

    Reply
  • 15. MIke  |  September 1, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    I am eager to hear her pro family positions on workplace equality, breastfeeding in the workplace, extending Family and Medical Leave Act, Paid sick/maternity leave, allowing unions to form more easily to keep jobs that can feed families on US Soil, education, Pension Reform,creationism, allowing intelligent design into the curriculum, more classroom time for PE/Art/Music/Sex Ed, Bankruptcy laws that put retirees last, etc.

    Because “pro family” usually means pro womens issues, and the men stay behind and work harder while the women take a break to breastfeed, take care of the kids, leave early for hockey games, etc. Best of all is when they get important assignments at work, then get pregnant, and the team is minus one for some length of time. Again, men get hammered, then get beat on for getting paid more than women who check out of the workplace for years at a time. So I’m eager to see what her positions actually are. Not ready to vote for her just because she wears a skirt or just because she is GOP. But I’m interested to hear what she has to say. Nice blog.

    Reply
  • 16. Lisa  |  September 5, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    I LOVE this woman!!! But I disagree that they are nothing alike——both are mavericks, reformers, and both are very tough and not afraid of a fight.

    I think that’s why he chose her!

    Reply
  • 17. MsLib  |  September 7, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Oh, but we’ve forgotten something. McCain is going to be the president, not Palin!!!! She’ll be shrouded away in some bunker while he’s running the country. We have to remember that she is their red herring and he is using her big time.

    I am aware of this possibility. But I think it’s a chance worth taking because I definitely don’t want Obama. Just being VP would put her a heartbeat away from the presidency or in a good position to run for president. ~Guinever

    Reply
  • 18. Amy Cannon  |  September 7, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Love that you’re posting about this, Guinever. My two cents is that Palin can finally bring some common sense to Washington. Don’t have money in the budget? Don’t spend it! “Over the top” luxuries? Put it on E-Bay! I got to admit, getting rid of the personal chef would have been a REALLY tough choice for me (if I ever had that opportunity) and with five kids, you think she could have found justification for the chef. But it is a great example of how she puts the needs of the citizens before her own comforts. And isn’t that what all good mothers do on a daily basis? Maybe what we need for such a time as this is a seasoned mom who provides very practical and reasonable answers. I get so tired of hearing political rhetoric. Palin’s voice is refreshing common sense.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

