cooking for Jackson, day 6

August 6, 2008 at 10:26 pm Leave a comment

I’m happy to report that Jackson’s skin is better, a lot better. He looks like a different boy. His skin isn’t normal and smooth yet, but the improvement is extraordinary. Really, day 3, it looked a lot better. A few nights ago, I let him have some fries from Wendy’s.  The next morning, he woke up scratching and was all red and a little bit bumpy, but cleared up by the afternoon.  I’m assuming that the oil (vegetable which really means soybean) it was cooked in is what caused the reaction.

Tonight I have some cookies in the oven. I’m using a pre-made mix by Namaste. The package says, “This mix is free of:

  • gluten
  • wheat
  • soy
  • nuts
  • potato
  • corn
  • dairy
  • casein

The directions say to add 2 eggs, 1/2 cup oil and 2 T of water. I used grapeseed oil. He can’t have eggs so I used Ener-g egg replacemer. The box warns that its best used with things made from scratch, not with mixes. Oh well. I mixed it up and it was very crumbly so I added a little more water. Still crumbly. So I mixed up some flaxseed and water and poured that in. That seemed to make the batter stick together.  They seemed so plain so I added in some raisins.

I hope he likes them.

Entry filed under: allergies, food allergies.

banana sauce my favorite picture; slideshow coming soon

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

