I’m tired of reading food labels and it’s only day 3

August 3, 2008 at 12:37 am 3 comments

Before Jackson’s allergy test, I suspected he would be allergic to one or two foods in our every day diet. I thought we could do the allergy test and then know what is causing his eczema and then eliminate those foods from his diet.  haha. That’s not how it works. We have to eliminate foods and then re-introduce them one at a time to see if he has a reaction. The doctor said that foods he tested positive for might NOT necessarily cause the allergic reaction and also foods that he did not test positive for might cause the eczema. So why did we do those 25 skin pricks and 6 shots? Please explain it to me.  Its a starting point, I suppose.  But that’s a lot of potential false positives and false negatives.

He tested highly allergic to wheat, corn, eggs and peaches.  We didn’t test berries and tomatoes because I already know those are foods to avoid. He had a slight reaction to peanut, dairy and soy.  So we need to eliminate all those. That’s a lot of foods to take away.   HELP.  Wheat free products usually have corn. Dairy free products usually have soy. It’s hard to find things that don’t have all of these things!

Rice is ok. The first day, I went to Good Foods to see what I could find. I ended up bringing home rice penne noodles from the bulk section and 2 different brands of rice cakes and 2 different rice cereals which I’ll probably just use when we’re away from home since they’re easily portable.  Fortunately, Jackson loves the rice cakes.  Tonight I went to Whole Foods in hopes of finding more foods for him.  I wandered around for more than an hour reading labels.  I was going to stock up on rice cakes but they were more expensive there than what I had gotten the day before. I was heading to Walmart so I figured I would buy the rice cakes at Walmart. Couldn’t do it. Rice cakes at Walmart aren’t really rice cakes at all. They also have milk, soy, peanut, dairy, and wheat in them. Each flavor was a little different.  Oh well. Back to Good Foods on Monday.

I’ve made oatmeal for breakfast the past 2 days. Today for lunch, I kept looking around for food that Jackson could have and just couldn’t find any so I fed him before the rest of the family. When he was done, I put him down for a nap and then cooked up some eggs and sausage for the rest of us.  For dinner, I made meatballs with oats and flax seed meal instead of the usual eggs and crackers. They turned out pretty good, actually. Did you know that Worcestershire sauce has both corn and soy in it. So i couldn’t use that in the meatballs either. I’m hoping to cook for the whole family and then maybe set Jackson’s food aside and add more ingredients or maybe cook two different kinds of noodles. Hopefully!  For example, I made mashed potatoes yesterday, but I pulled some out for just for Jackson before adding in the milk, butter and sour cream.

I didn’t think that in a million years I would ever be buying egg substitute. I happen to think that egg yolks contain good cholesterol that our body needs and they’re an excellent source of protein. Well, tonight I bought a box of powered egg substitute so I could make Jackson some muffins, pancakes and cookies with non-wheat flours. Oh well.  Life is full of surprises.

Entry filed under: food allergies, grocery shopping, kids.

HELP! no wheat, no corn, no eggs allowed deal of the week #6

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nancy Brown  |  August 6, 2008 at 11:25 am

    I know you don’t know me, but you are friends with some of my friends on facebook (Sarah-Jane, Lisa Randle) and I noticed you were mentioning food allergies. My 2 year old was positively diagnosed with allergies to peanuts, eggs, and milk last year. He has some pretty intense reactions. I was still nursing him, so I was told to keep it up but to eliminate those things from my diet, too. I’m not nursing him now, but I can’t seem to stop! =) Anyway, I would be happy to help you if you need. I know wheat and soy are in everything. Here are a couple of brands to look for Cherrybrook kitchen and Enjoy life. Cherrybrook has pancake mix (both with and without wheat) and cake mixes (ditto) that are pretty yummy. Enjoylife has none of the Big 8 allergens. I see your little guy has quite a few to avoid, so these might not work because of soy or berries, etc. There is faan.com and godiaryfree.com where I got a lot of info too. I hope you don’t mind a complete stranger commenting. It can be overwhelming, I know. But now, I can read a label in 3.2 seconds. =) Good luck and God bless. Nancy Brown

    Reply
  • 2. Melissa Auxier  |  August 7, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    I know how you feel, we went years on special diets, no wheat, soy, rice, dairy, etc. We have just recently been helped tremendously by NAET, you can check it out at http://www.naet.com, also, we have used EFT to get rid of allergies. These things really do work. I had hit rock bottom, with 8 children and all kinds of allergies, I couldn’t eat a thing without reacting, now I have my life back and the kids are doing much better. Sometimes you have to hit rock bottom before you are open to what God is trying to tell you.
    Let me know if I can help in any way.
    Melissa

    Reply
  • 3. Kathy  |  August 29, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    If you find out later that he can have soy, you can use soy flour for an egg substitute. Add a heaping tablespoon of soy flour plus 1 tablespoon of water for each egg the recipe calls for. I’ve used it in numerous recipes and can’t tell the difference.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

