Dillards at Turfland Mall closing

April 21, 2008 at 11:37 pm Leave a comment

I don’t know exactly when the Dillards at Turfland mall on Harrodsburg is closing but there is a big banner out front saying that it is, and there’s a big mess inside indicative of a store closing. When I say a big mess, I just mean it looks like a warehouse store rather than a department store.  There are no pretty displays.  Cardboard boxes filled with slippers and bras and belts and who knows what else line tables throughout the store.

I went today and only had time to look at the kids’ clothing and the shoes. Clothing is marked 75% off and then you take an additional 20% off of that. I wasn’t impressed with the girls’ clothes at all–either the prices or the styles, but I found some hooded sweatshirts for Alex and Caleb for under $5.  All the winter hats and gloves are $1.99 so I got 2 pairs of gloves (nice thinsulate) and put them away with our winter coats. My boys rarely wore gloves this winter. I’m not sure if it’s because all their gloves were too small or because it only snowed about 3 times and when it did, the snow had melted by noon.

I plan to go back and look at the women’s clothes and send Todd to look in the men’s department.  I glanced at the domestics but everything still had hefty prices on them. I did find a cute little $2 Easter hat for Mary.

If you go, go alone (no young kids) and give yourself plenty of time to dig through things and search. Even though the racks are well-organized by size, it still took time to find anything. I’ll let you know when the prices go lower. Seventy-five percent may seem like a big discount, but when you’re starting out at Dillard’s full price, that’s not very low on most name brands there.  If you find something, please tell me all about it.

Entry filed under: deal of the week. Tags: , .

deals of the week #5 toddler locks himself in his parents’ bedroom

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

