deals of the week #5

April 21, 2008 at 9:14 pm 4 comments

A new grocery store opened in Lexington a few months ago and I’ve been there several times. It’s definitely worth the drive from the south side to the north side of town. At the right time of day, it only takes 15 minutes which isn’t bad at all.

It’s Aldis. Perhaps you’ve heard of it. They have been around for awhile–just not in Lexington. Before, I had to drive to Danville to go to Aldi which I haven’t done in a few years. Most of the food there is their own brand made especially for Aldi, but they do get name brands sometimes too. I’ll just list a few things from today’s receipt:

  • 5 pounds yukon gold potatoes $1.89
  • Freschetta brand pizza $3.99
  • 1 pound butter $1.89
  • 1 pound bag of baby carrots 69¢
  • 1 gallon milk $1.99
  • can of whipped cream $1.39
  • 9.5 oz. can of cashews $1.99
  • 200 oz of ultra liquid laundry detergent (like Tide) $6.99
  • 1 dozen eggs 99¢
  • 50 count ibuprofen 99¢

tips for shopping at Aldis

Take a quarter with you. You’ll need it to get a shopping cart. If you forget your quarter, maybe someone will be nice enough to give you their cart in the parking lot; I’ve never tested this. Alex thinks they should charge more than a quarter. I like the carts because there is room for two little ones side by side. I need this!

Take cash or a debit card. That’s all they take. No checks or credit.

When it’s time to leave, you have to have all your stuff out of your cart before they’ll start checking you out, so be quick! And watch out. They scan and get the groceries back in your cart so quick, you won’t know what just happened.

Take your own bags. I usually leave them in the car and then just bag out in the parking lot (if it were freezing or raining, I would do it in the store and they have a long table ledge at the front of the store for doing this). You can buy bags at the store or just go bagless. I see people with boxes sometimes too.

the prices and quality at Aldis

I think the best savings for me have been from dairy products–butter, eggs, milk,and cheese. I wish I could say the same of cereal, but I buy whole grain cereals and they just don’t have any of those. Ditto for breads. All white.

I have been pleased with all their meats–both fresh and frozen. We had some great pork shoulder steak that was $1.99 lb. The very perishable fresh produce doesn’t look appealing (grapes, strawberries, bananas), but the hardier items like potatoes, apples, onions, carrots have all been fine and the prices have been great. You really can’t beat 69 cents for a bag of carrots except when they were 44 cents when the store first opened.

I have never been happy with an off brand of laundry detergent and trust me, I’ve tried them all since I do 15-20 loads a week and I’m trying to find a cheaper way to do laundry. But this one gets the clothes clean, the smell doesn’t give me a headache, and no one is breaking out in skin rash (my rules for laundry detergent). My preference has been ALL for many years, but about a year ago, they drastically raised their price so I’m very happy to find a new laundry detergent that costs less.

The only thing my family has not liked is the frozen fish sticks.

Entry filed under: deal of the week. Tags: .

two adoption journeys Dillards at Turfland Mall closing

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dooalot  |  April 21, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    I love Aldi! But I didn’t know they had opened one in Lexington. I will definitely have to get up there. I used to trek down to that one in Danville but haven’t done that for years. I’m pretty sure we used to like their store brand of salsa pretty well. I definitely used to buy a lot of their frozen meat, too. Wow. Thanks for the info! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Rebekah  |  April 22, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    We shop at Aldi almost every day… here in Denmark! I know it’s a German company that is partnered with Trader Joe’s. It’s fun to read about your description of how shopping/checking out works because it’s exactly the same here (and in every other grocery store too for that matter).

    Reply
  • 3. anastasia  |  May 11, 2008 at 11:43 am

    I’m gonna side with Rebekah, We’re currently stationed in Germany & everything you’ve mentioned is status quo over here! Love your blogs, just discovered them today! Thanks!

    Reply
  • […] can read my tips for shopping at Aldi which I wrote before I started making my own laundry […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

