I wonder how long it took me to get my hair looking that bad in 1982

April 16, 2008 at 8:19 pm 6 comments

We came across this picture the other night. Mary opened a frame and here I was. This photo had been foisted on me by my aunt when she was going through my grandmother’s belongings a couple years ago. Who else would want this picture of me?

Mary asked who it was. I told her. Then she said, “You look like a boy.”

The reason I must look like a boy to her is because this was taken in my pre-eyebrow plucking era. It certainly can’t be because of the hair. All the men and boys in our house have short crew cuts. The next morning, Mary found the picture again, and still all she could say about it was, “You look like a boy, Mom.” That from a 3 year old.

I like the sweater. My Aunt Beth gave it to me and I wore it constantly.

I can’t wait to show you the picture that I found under this one when I took it out of the frame to scan it. It is much worse.

Entry filed under: kids, life.

ice stumbling spelling season is over

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dooalot  |  April 16, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    … And I can’t wait to see the other photo, either! Ha! Now I’m going to have to post a photo of me having a bad hair day, too 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Beth in TX  |  April 16, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Wow, but I bet I can find one that’s worse! Wait, I don’t want to go there because then this will turn into the cake decorating contest thing, only worse. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Rebekah  |  April 17, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Well in 1982 that was a very fashion-forward haircut! And that sweater would be very in now too.

    Reply
  • 4. amy  |  April 21, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Hair-do aside, I particularly liked the use of your word “foisted.” And the hair is fine, I believe the eyebrows are the biggest offense here.

    Reply
  • 5. Alisa Beatty  |  April 22, 2008 at 8:54 am

    What a brave woman. No way in the world am I posting my early 80s hairdo (my parents should have bought stock in hairspray!!)

    Reply
  • 6. Peakmore Academy  |  April 26, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    okay lady, i just came across this blog entry and I’m sorry to say but, it made me chuckle. Let’s just get real here…

    The top and *your* right side isn’t too bad, with that so wonderful curl/flip thing going on (BTDT, but NOT sharing a photo! LOL) but … well what’s up with your left side of the hairdo? Looks like it just kinda grew out there all whopper-jawed in one big mass. LOL

    Love the 80’s sweater though. While i didn’t own THAT one I did have some totally awesome items that were similar. ROFL

    Thanks for sharing, and only joshing around with you cause I was a freakshow in the 80’s. LOL

    ~me

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

