1001 hits

April 1, 2008 at 11:31 pm 4 comments

I’ve been watching the stats for my birthing website because they’ve been slowly creeping towards 1000 hits a day. My two best days ever were 870 and then 919 hits, both in March.  I’ve been waiting for it to reach 1000 and it finally did on April 1st GST. (in other words, not midnight to midnight in my own timezone, EST). No, this is not an April fool’s joke. My website really did get 1001 hits yesterday. For some people who have a huge readership, you’re probably laughing in my face, and for other small potatoes like me, you might be impressed.

march-stats-390.jpg

The following chart shows my website’s monthly growth since I started:

birthingstats390.jpg

My growth took an upward turn when I started getting more questions on my site. Notice how it doubled two months in a row? I’m speculating here since I can’t read the mind of google, but I think the comments make new content on my site. Even though I may not have any new articles, my website still seems  “relevant” and so I’ve moved up in search engine ranks for certain search words.

I don’t post as often as I would if I didn’t have 5 other people living in my house with me:)

Entry filed under: blogging.

pictures of my little happy boy deal of the week, I take that back: deal of the year

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. artpredator  |  April 2, 2008 at 12:51 am

    congrats!

    i’m small potatoes–ave 50-75 hits a day, not 500! but then i wrote about the lunar eclipse and bingo, somehow i ended up at the top of googles search and who know who all else and ended up with 5000 hits in about 30 hours…

    i think it’s really writing something that hits a nerve–and you’re obviously meeting a need!

    Reply
  • 2. Laurie  |  April 6, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Wow! I’m certainly impressed! 😉 I’ve recently gotten it in my head that I could do a stat counter. I guess I finally heard enough people discuss the things they can do with it, like track, etc. Hmmmm….like I really need to do all this in all of my free time. 😉 Anyway, I’m vegging now, after our unit celebration and did some googling. Everything looked so business like, instead of cute. lol Then I thought, I need to check Guinever’s blog! lol I know your definition of cute may differ from mine! 😉 But I knew you knew about these things. Sooooooo, long story, many words later… I was pleasantly surprised to see you blog about this!!!! LOL
    Blessings,
    Laurie

    I hate to take up your time. Do you have a blog entry already on which one you use and why? They all looked so intimidating and I don’t want extra spam or viruses or anything. See how little I know about this! If you don’t have a blog entry on it, could you tell me which one you use? Thanks!
    Blessings,
    Laurie

    Reply
  • 3. Laurie  |  April 6, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Oh, I read the top comment. If I do this, I bet I’ll get 1-2 hits a day, if that many! It might be best if I don’t do this! LOL Hmmmmm, I have to think about this!
    Blessings,
    Laurie

    Reply
  • 4. Karla  |  April 7, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Your birthing site is excellent, Guinever. I’m not surprised you’re getting so many hits. Congratulations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

