the frazzled female; I had become their living object lesson

February 29, 2008 at 12:53 am 6 comments

So I have this homeschooling 101 meeting scheduled for Wednesday night that I’m supposed to go to and set up a few things for the curriculum that I use. When I arrive at the church, I kinda look around the parking lot and think that there are way too many people there for a homeschooling info night. It seems like the whole town is there for Wednesday night church and activities. So I call my husband and ask him to check my wall calendar. Yes, it says Wednesday night.

I grab my basket (thankful I’m not carting a wagon…) and head inside. I don’t see any signs pointing me in the right direction. I can hear the choir practicing from one direction and a whole mess of kids having a lot of fun from the other direction. I head away from the kid noise. Fortunately, there was a nice gentleman in the hallway making photocopies who introduced himself and welcomed me and asked if I was going to a class (eyeing my basket nicely, but suspiciously )

I told him I was there for the homeschooling 101 meeting. I wondered if I was at the right church. Yes, I was. Then I wondered if I were there on the right evening. He said that he would help me find what I was looking for. We walked down the hallway. Most of the doors were closed, but I could easily glance in the windows of each one.

Senior citizens. No, not that room. More seniors. Nope. Another room with seniors, this time bowed in prayer. Again nada. I pretty much had decided I was there on the wrong night or at least I was in the wrong hallway. I turned to leave, to get out of there as fast as I could with my basket. But the nice gentleman called my name. Oh great, I thought. He knows my name. Now everyone in the building knows that I was there.

So I turn around and walk towards him. When I get closer, he informs me that my homeschooling 101 meeting was last night. But he had found a room full of homeschoolers and why don’t I join them. At that point, I didn’t have a choice. I mean he had practically introduced me to the group even though I hadn’t entered the room yet.

frazzled.jpgSo I turned the corner into the doorway and was met with peals of laughter. (nice laughter). I guess they thought it was funny that I had shown up for something on the wrong night. Then the leader held up the book they were discussing and the reason for the laughter was clear.

I had become their living object lesson.

After standing for a couple minutes and everyone introduced themselves, I plopped down in the soft chair by the door. Why not, I thought. I can always duck out quickly and quietly in a few minutes if I wanted to.

I ended up staying for the whole time and even stayed a few minutes after talking with someone I had known in a co-op I belonged to 3 years ago. It turned out ok afterall.

But it would have been nice if the wrong night I had shown up had been before the actual meeting so I could’ve gone to it…

Me, frazzled?  Not usually.  Just an airhead, sometimes.

Entry filed under: family, homeschooling.

where’s the birthday girl? the anti-page protector club

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Corrine  |  February 29, 2008 at 7:30 am

    OH my goodness I am rolling on the floor, Guinever!!! I can’t wait to meet you tomorrow!! (I think tomorrow! LOL Maybe I’M the frazzled female–in fact I KNOW I am!!) love, Corrine

    Reply
  • 2. Elizabeth  |  February 29, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Have a great time this weekend! It is this weekend, isn’t it? Did you double check the dates???

    Hehehe.

    Reply
  • 3. Beth  |  February 29, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Ah, been there! Quite a few years ago, I got my 5 young children all dressed up and ready to go to school picture day that a local homeschool dad was doing at his studio. We drove to the studio, walked in the door – and discovered that I was a month late! It had occurred the previous month and I wasn’t even aware of it. So I looked at my dressed up darlings, headed home, got out my camera, and snapped away for our own “living room studio” school pictures.
    <

    Reply
  • 4. Laurie  |  March 4, 2008 at 8:37 am

    This was hilarious!
    Blessings,
    Laurie

    Reply
  • 5. Molly  |  March 4, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    That’s too funny, Guinever! I, too, did the picture thing like Beth. I was too frazzled to have my own picture day at home! I just cried about it instead!

    Reply
  • 6. ChristineMM  |  March 7, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Oh boy! That was hysterical. Thanks for making me smile today!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

