on birthday cakes

February 9, 2008 at 10:04 pm 2 comments

Last night I baked two round cakes for Caleb’s birthday which is tomorrow. I was hoping Caleb wouldn’t notice, but he did and he started dancing around the kitchen and declaring that it was for his layer cake. I’m glad that he is so excited about a simple layer cake because that is all he is getting.  Nothing can top or come equal or remotely close to the dolly cake I made for Mary in November.

I had considered making Caleb’s cake in the shape of a turtle since that is his favorite animal. I figured I could use cupcakes for the feet but I had no idea how to make the head and then I realized I didn’t need a head. I could just say that the turtle was hiding under its shell.  When I explained this to Todd, he thought I was nuts. Afterall, no matter how funny it looked, it couldn’t be worse than a certain dino cake I attempted years ago for Alex.

When the boys were at Alex’s basketball game this morning, I frosted the cake.  Mary had helped me make and bake the 2 round cakes last night and now she was here for the decorating as well.  When I put the cupcakes down around it, it looked stupid. I mean it didn’t look like a turtle at all, so I scratched the whole turtle idea and just frosted it green, and let Mary place little store bought fish and turtle decorations along the edge of the cake.

When we were done, Mary wanted to know where the other cake was. At first I didn’t quite know what she meant, but then I caught on. We had baked two cakes, but now there was only one.  She wanted two cakes. I told her that the other cake was inside of it, that one was on top of the other one. She didn’t like it; she wanted two cakes. She didn’t want the cake to be inside. I told her that putting the two cakes together made a really big cake. She was ok with that.

So tomorrow is the big seven. Caleb has been counting down the days for about a month now.  I still haven’t posted any pictures from Mary’s birthday so I’ll go ahead and do that before another birthday rolls around.

Entry filed under: family, kids.

for Grandma VC Mary’s 3rd birthday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Whitney  |  February 14, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Guinever,
    Lovely cake. I see Noah’s picture. I have been glued to their blog for the longest time. I feel like I know the family. I have prayed for them so much. They are such a shining example of how to handle things in the midst of troubles.
    Blessings,
    W.

    Reply
  • 2. Susan in MO  |  February 26, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I had turtle cakes every yr when I was little; turtles were my favorite animal. I made one for my son when he was about 7. It turned out great. I remember baking the cake in a pyrex bowl to get the shape, but I don’t remember how I did the legs, tail, and head.

    The train cakes were much more fun though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

