for sale: 3000, oops! I mean 300 square foot house

January 8, 2008 at 6:01 pm 3 comments

teeny-house.jpgMeasuring in at just under 300 square feet, Toronto’s smallest house is sandwiched between two much bigger houses . I dare say it could be the world’s smallest house, but what do I know? Currently listed for sale at 179,000, that’s truly a bargain with all the features this house has to offer. A front stoop, a pull-down bed in the master suite, brand new appliances, a patio and a place to park your car behind the house. How did they pack all of this into such a teensy space? The owner bought it in April for $135,000 and has renovated it. To see lots of pictures and read the history go to the Little House’s website.

Entry filed under: entertaining.

alex and heather the best fruit

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. karynforyou  |  January 10, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    ….And I think my place is small at 800sq feet shared between four of us! Perspective.

    Reply
  • 2. Heather  |  January 13, 2008 at 11:24 am

    I bet someone would buy it if it would qualify them for a good school district. 😉

    On the other hand, it sort of raises the question: how much stuff and space does one person really need, anyway?

    Reply
  • 3. Marina  |  November 18, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Hi! I just met your blog and i felt that i HAD to leave a comment on this one… That is not the smallest house in the world AT ALL! I´m a brazilian 29yo woman and here it is absolutely normal to live in a 300 feet house! Mine is 308 foot square. I have friends that live in 200 feet apartments and we do just fine! By the way: we are not poor or anything like that, we just don´t feel the need to have a huge house full of stuff (well, actually, some of us do, but they are the minority). I´d rather use my money to pay someone to clean my house once in a while than to pay for a mortgage. In our vacations we travel a lot and we´ve been to many countries where living in 300feet houses is OK and people find it normal and natural. I dont mean that in a bad way, but for me it was very estrange when I lived in your country and heard people saying that their houses were small, that they needed more closets, that they couldnt understand why there is such an economycal crisis… A rich brazilian family (and i mean RICH as in millionaire) would be considered pretencious if they lived in a 2000 foot square house.

    Sorry for my rusty english, it´s been a long time since i last spoke this language (i´m better at french, though! Lol)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

