the seven silly eaters: a delightful book

December 14, 2007 at 8:54 pm 1 comment

sillyeaters_cov.jpgThe Seven Silly Eaters is an absolutely delightful book. Each page is richly illustrated and could tell a story all by itself.

One interesting thing I’ve noticed is that the dad is never mentioned in the story, but he’s pictured on most of the pages–standing next to his wife, his arm around her, leaning over, looking at his son in the cradle, planting a tree in the yard, coming in the door carrying a bushel of apples or a big bag of groceries, sitting in the comfy armchair with kids on his lap reading them a book, coming down the stairs with all the children, or leaning on the kitchen counter drying a pan.

The drawings are realistic for happenings in a big family–everyone is always doing something. Food is on the stove, bread is in the oven, blocks are all over the floor, kids are reading books, laundry needs to be folded.

You can read a synopsis of the storyline and peek inside the book at a couple pages. The narrative is sweet and you rarely have to trip over the rhymes like you so often do in other children’s books. Here’s one of my favorite paragraphs:

Now Lucy grew and Peter grew
Till he was three and she was two.
And who was one? Why, little Jack
With eyes so brown and hair so black–
A happy baby, never cross,
But all he’d eat was applesauce.

So who is this book for? The whole family! Parents won’t mind reading it again and again to the toddlers and preschoolers who request it and older independent readers will grab it off the shelf to read by themselves.

Entry filed under: book reviews, books, homeschooling, kids.

mmmmmm, so good how can they not have sticky tack?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. brieannevictoria  |  December 18, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    Hello! I wasn’t sure if the forum would send you an email to alert you that I add a question, so I thought I would just ask you on your blog.
    My question is this: I noticed that you had a problem getting rid of white space and my problem is that I want white space. As I was looking through your blog, I noticed the white space and I was wondering how you did it? Thank you!

    I’m not sure which white space you’re referring to whether it’s around my images or just generally. It’s my template. I haven’t done anything to add any white space. I know you can add white space around images with HTML coding. Just google it. Maybe you need to switch themes to get the white space you’re looking for??? Also, I don’t see the white space that you’re referring to. My blog looks “ok” using firefox. I know some of my posts look different in internet explorer. ~Guinever

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

