quick! get the kids to bed before something else happens

November 28, 2007 at 8:51 pm 7 comments

This post is dedicated to all you moms of many children and even those with just one or two. Every once in awhile we have days like this or maybe all our days are like this! Today just seemed to be crazier than most because the mishaps all happened within 2 hours.

The boys were playing in the leaves that their dad had blown to the curb with his super duper heavy backpack leaf blower. Watch out, this thing could cause tidal waves. Anyhow, the eight year old lost his boot in the leaves and couldn’t find it. Now this wasn’t any old boot. It was a brand new boot that mom didn’t want to buy because it had laces that she knew he wouldn’t want to take the time to tie every time he put his boots on. (this happened the last time he had shoes with laces) He convinced her that he could handle it and that he would tie his shoes so mom relented and purchased the cool boots with the camo print.

Eventually with both boys searching, they found the new boot and managed to do it before the big leaf truck from the city got to our house to suck up all the leaves. (actually, the truck hasn’t shown up yet, but it could have because it was working our neighborhood today)

The Betta fish that Grandma bought a couple years ago sunk to the bottom of the tank and stayed there. So we went to the pet store for a replacement. Instead of a fighting fish, my 6 year old wanted a couple of goldfish. No problem. Only 19 cents each. When we were checking out (me and my 4 kids with 2 goldfish and 3 boxes of crickets for our other pet, the gecko), the clerk said,

“Boy do you have your hands full.”

Now why is it that every time I am out with 2 or more of my kids, someone says that to me? The last time I replied “yeah, and half of them are home right now. ” My kids are well behaved, but the youngest few do need to be watched and contained! I guess people can’t imagine having more than 1.2 children. Ah well!

When we got home, I put the plastic bag containing the goldfish into the already prepared water in the bowl to acclimate them to the temperature.

Meanwhile, I was baking bread today and put cranberries in it for a special treat. One of the loaves was going to go to a family who just had their 6th child. I made it in my fluted wreath stoneware pan. All the loaves were sitting on the counter rising, waiting to go in the oven when the cookies were done baking.

We made cookie cutter cookies. I only do this twice a year max. Too much mess! I prefer to whip up a batch of pan cookies–everything done and cleaned up and in the oven in 10 minutes. Not so with this recipe–this is an all day affair when the kiddos are around. All the cookie cutters ended up on the floor. How does that happen? Every time I needed the spatula to either slide the hot cookies onto the cooling rack or to get the dough off the counter and put it in the pan, the spatula was on the floor. It seems like everything in this house makes it to the floor at one time or another. The little Miss was standing on a wash basket right next to the step stool that she should have been standing on. She knows she’s not allowed to do that! Then I saw the clothes on the other end of the kitchen that she dumped out so she could have her basket.

I asked the oldest to get the vacuum down to get all the flour off the floor. By this time, the littlest one needed to nurse so I retreated to the living room with him and everyone who wasn’t vacuuming followed and they all wanted to sit by me and be under the blanket. There wasn’t enough me and there wasn’t enough blanket. We could’ve used a bigger blanket, although we definitely don’t exactly need a bigger me.

I heard a CRASH from the kitchen.

I wondered what broke. The son was apologizing, repeatedly. I was thinking a plate or a glass, but no it was my lovely stoneware wreath pan in many pieces amidst the sticky dough with cranberries. Oh well. To the trash. I had hoped to save the bread, but it was sprinkled with stoneware specks. I am thankful that I kept my cool. I just wanted to know how it happened. I mean it was sitting on the back of the counter. I know it didn’t just grow legs and jump to the floor. I was also thankful it wasn’t my 4 mini loaf pan because I use that one about once a week… (if you’re wondering how it happened, he yanked the vacuum cord out of the wall from the other side of the kitchen and the cord somehow whipped the pan onto the floor. Not sure exactly how that happened, but there it is.)

Time to get ready for bed. The kids know the routine. I went to the little ones’ room and diaper wipes were all over the floor. This is not a new development. I use cloth diapers and I use baby washcloths for wipes and keep them in a wipes container on the top of the changing table. They used to be below on one of the shelves but baby discovered them and used to pull them out at every opportunity. After about a week of that, I moved the box to the top. They’ve been safely there for several months until a few days ago when he discovered that by standing in his crib, he can reach the wipes container and pull them out. I guess its time to move them again.

Remember the goldfish sitting on the counter? I dumped a little bit of the water out and added some tank water. At this point, I should have put the bag containing the goldfish back into the bowl. But I thought they would be safe for a few minutes. The bag seemed sturdy, not too full just sitting there. Boy was I wrong. Those goldfish must’ve been banging on the side or something because I came back a couple minutes later and water was pouring down onto the floor, the puddle quickly spreading. I think the volume of water in the bag doubled when it fell over. I scanned the floor for the goldfish and didn’t see them. That was a relief, but then I realized they might be on the kitchen counter. By this time all the kids had come along and were aghast. The oldest was having a panic attack as he always does in this kind of situation. (Not a real honest to goodness medical panic attack, but he just freaks out over everything, probably gets it from his mother.) So anyway, I picked up the bag which had the teeniest amount of water in it as well as two thrashing goldfish. I dumped them in the little fish bowl. I hope they live through the night.

Back to getting ready for bed. The sink in our main bathroom isn’t draining. I told the kids to brush their teeth in the bathtub again. (This is day 2). Last night, when I gave this instruction, the toddler jumped into the bathtub. That’s not what I meant, but I guess that it was I had said.

Quick, get the kids in bed before something else happens. Tomorrow is another day.

Entry filed under: family, homeschooling, kids.

fabulous sausage stuffing green extremists make ridiculous suggestions for Hanukkah

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam in SE MI (TOG loose threads)  |  November 28, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    We had a day sortof like that on Monday, only nothing broke. Tempers flared instead. It was just an “off” day. Good for you for keeping your cool about the broken pan and ruined bread! Sounds like you had a fun baking day (and leaf blowing day, and…..:-)). If I had a nickel for every time someone said the “you have your hands full” comment to me I would be rich!

    Reply
  • 2. cellista  |  November 29, 2007 at 1:10 am

    Ditto on the nickel comment!

    We have days like this too. It is SO good to know that others do too! Thanks for making me smile 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Lisawa  |  November 29, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Wow! What a day! I was glad I saw your post on the loosethreads group…. I have been having days like this myself…. it just seems to beone thing or another sometimes…. I keep reminding myself that when things come up…. i here in my head, ” thisi s a test, this is only a test!” I can say I have been passing “some” not all. *Ü*

    Lisa wa from loosethreads (ps I do not post much it overwhelms me) *Ü*

    Reply
  • 4. Marsha  |  November 29, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    WHAT a day!!! I hope that someday down the road you will remember this day with joy and a big smile. And I hope it helps knowing we all have those days from time to time, even those of us with only two kiddos! Sometimes I can’t imagine how you moms-of-many cope!?!?!?

    Hugs, Marsha

    Reply
  • 5. Uncle Sam  |  November 30, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    Your bathroom story reminded me of how we moved into our new house only to discover plumbing problems one after another. The toilet out in the downstairs guest bathroom stopped up followed by the shower pouring water into the livingroom room from upstairs but not to be outdone by the full bath upstairs overflow valve pouring water into the laundry room downstairs.

    …sigh…goodluck with plumbing.

    Reply
  • 6. pastorafrank  |  December 13, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    Boy, you sure have your hands full, Guinever 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. mejohn7779  |  January 16, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    My wife recently purchased a bag of soapnuts to use for cleaning cloth diapers for our baby girl. They worked better than any other laundry detergent she had tried. She was so impressed that she bought them in bulk & opened up an e-store so that she have a home-based business and still raise our daughter. Her site is http://Stores.HotterThanHealth.com Check it out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

