yummy crunchy granola full of clusters

November 9, 2007 at 8:56 pm 2 comments

I’ve been on a quest to make granola with clusters. It seems every time I made granola, all the oats would be separated. It tasted good, but it just didn’t have all the yummy, big clusters that I found in the bulk bins at my health food store. So I’ve been experimenting and altering recipes for about six months and I have finally come up with a recipe that I like with my yogurt and fruit. It seems the key to getting clusters is adding flour, having a wet granola before baking, and not stirring as often which can break up the clusters.

1/2 cup sunflower oil
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup water
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup dry milk powder
1/2 cup wheat germ
1/2 cup coconut flakes
1 cup whole wheat flour
8 cups oats

Mix all the ingredients. This will be a wet granola. Bake at 200 degrees for a minimum of 2 hours. Just stir a little about every half hour and watch it towards the end so you can take it out of the oven when the granola has browned and is nice and crunchy. Optional: add dried fruit, nuts and seeds after baking is done. Store in an airtight container. Serve with fruit and yogurt or just eat it plain.

Entry filed under: recipes. Tags: , , .

at the park on a sunny, fall day plain homemade yogurt

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly  |  February 10, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    My granola isn’t as healthy as yours, but it has clusters and it tastes AWESOME (all that butter and sugar)….I love it with plain, unflavored yogurt. Try it if you aren’t a “health food only” person!

    4 cups Quaker Toasted Oat Bran cereal (no substitutions! Red box)
    2 cups oats
    1 c. chopped pecans
    1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
    1/2 c. butter
    1/2 c. brown sugar
    1/2 c. honey
    1 to 2 cups dried fruit (I prefer cherries and apricots)

    Combine the cereal, oats, pecans and cinnamon in a large bowl. Stir the butter, brown sugar andhoney over low heat to dissolve. Pour over the cereal. Spread on parchment lined pan and bake at 325F for 20 minutes. Add dried fruit and bake 5 more minutes. Cool. If you don’t have parchment, you can bake this on foil, but you MUST transfer it to waxed paper to cool or it will stick. Yummy! This will keep in a ziploc for a few weeks.
    Molly (counterculturalmom)

    Reply
  • 2. Erin  |  October 4, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    I know this article is a few years old, but i just came across it… I have been on a quest to make the perfect lower fat & suar granola and your recipe FINALLY gave me the texture, crunch & clusters I’ve been trying to achieve! I did sub the honey for a mix of sugar free maple syrup & splenda – I have to avoid sugar, even honey…Thanks you made my day!! (or year rather!!)

    Erin, I am so glad that you’re enjoying my granola recipe. ~blessings, Guinever

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

