rain, wonderful rain

October 23, 2007 at 4:40 pm 2 comments

Just a note before you get started: if you’re looking at this in Internet Explorer, this post might look dreadful, but everything is lined up nicely in Firefox. All summer, we’ve been in a drought. The grass is brown and crunchy except for the places where there has been a sprinkler turned on during the “designated” outdoor watering. Or maybe some people did it when they weren’t supposed to. Then yesterday, the rain came down–a nice, gentle rain. I sent the boys outside. Knowing what to do in the rain, they found some dirt and rubbed it all over themselves. I grabbed the camera when they came inside and then sent them to the shower. When they were done, I had to send Alex back in the bathroom to clean the dirt off the shower walls and floor. Then this morning, I stood on the edge of the tub, balancing myself as I cleaned the splatters off the ceiling. After that,

I took the shower curtain down and threw it in the washing machine, and then hung it back up a few hours later. Kind of a pain. My arms grew sore, as they always do when I’m doing tasks above my head. If it weren’t for the outdoor watering restrictions, I would’ve just sprayed the boys with the hose. If there’s a next time, I just might. This was a little bit more work for me than I had anticipated. While yesterday’s rain had been slow and gentle, today’s rain was hard and fierce at times.Thank you, Lord for this rain. The ground is soaking it up as quickly as it comes down.

I saw Caleb go outside and after a few minutes I wondered what he was doing. I looked out the window and saw him under the big umbrella eating a popsicle. All summer when it was time for frozen treats, I would send the kids out on the deck and today was no different for Caleb, although going outside was his idea.

Entry filed under: kids, life.

dancing with dollies don’t go to college to get a job

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. isabelleferrell  |  October 23, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    You werent kidding when you said the boys got muddy! How cute.

    Reply
  • 2. ChristineMM  |  January 10, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    LOVE this photo!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

