somebody stole my blog article

September 23, 2007 at 9:51 pm 2 comments

Shortly after posting a new article at my birthing blog, I got a couple trackbacks from it (if you don’t know what those are, don’t worry about it…) I followed the link, and oh my word, there was my entire article on another website with no attribution or links back to my blog (well, except the trackbacks.) This other doula made it look like she had written it. I wrote the following:

Having had 5 natural births myself, I’d like to offer what I feel are a few of the most important things to do in order to achieve a drug-free birth

She changed it to:

Having attended countless natural births, I’d like to offer…

The rest of the article is word for word mine. She just cut and pasted it. She did remove the links to my birth stories (or tried to at least, one remained hidden somewhere, hence one of the trackbacks –heehee)

I looked around her website. There’s not a lot on there. All of it though, is cut and paste jobs. No original content. I’m not sure if this person is clueless about internet etiquette and copyright law or just plain malicious. I’m trying to give her the benefit of the doubt. Most of the articles were from online newspapers or magazines–those had bylines but I doubt she asked for permission to use them. There were a few blog posts like mine that she made to look like she had written them (I just googled the titles and found them).

I left a pleasant enough comment on her site asking her to remove it from her website about 48 hours ago. It’s still there, so I sent her an e-mail. I’m thinking and hoping she just hasn’t seen my request yet. Hopefully, she’ll remove it right away.

UPDATE: She removed my post and all September archives.

Has this ever happened to you? What did you do about it?

Entry filed under: blogging, rants. Tags: , .

pictures from Nebraska: a slideshow 2 year old waltzes (sorta) with the Lawrence Welk show

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mishele  |  November 7, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    You have an outstanding good and well structured site. I enjoyed browsing through it.

    Reply
  • 2. Hillary  |  December 18, 2007 at 5:09 am

    keep up the good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

