braces for an 8 year old?

July 23, 2007 at 11:37 pm 8 comments

w-mouthpiece.jpgSaying that my son’s permanent teeth were not coming in straight would be an understatement. When our dentist referred us to an orthodontist six months ago, I didn’t imagine that my eight year old would soon be wearing a mouthpiece and braces. The purpose of the “W” brace, shown to the right, is to widen the bridge of the mouth. The tissue in the roof of the mouth is still soft and can be slowly widened and the cartilage will fill in. But if we had waited until he was a teenager, he probably would’ve needed a few teeth pulled to make room in his mouth. The purpose of orthodontics at a young age is to avoid having teeth pulled!

Just look at the difference in my son’s smile below. The first picture was taken after he got the braces and mouthpiece placed in his mouth. The second picture was taken after they had been in for 3 months. Also, I might note, that this was the first time that pesky left top tooth had a connecting wire to bring it down in alignment with the others. And it came down in line with the others after only a few days.

before1.jpgafter1.jpg

Please excuse the neon yellow rubberbands on his teeth. At each of Alex’s adjustment appointments, the tech who works on his teeth hands him a color wheel and he gets to choose which color bands he wants. He has gotten red, green, navy and now yellow.  The navy actually looked pretty good and blended in very nicely with the metal. Yellow is the opposite. It does not blend in and does not look good.

Entry filed under: braces, kids.

we started school today… celebrating 15 years

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teatimewithliz  |  July 24, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Yea! Great smile Alex!!

    Reply
  • 2. Alisa  |  July 24, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    WOW! I hadn’t noticed the difference but side by side it’s so obvious and wonderful! Ugh. I remember my four years of metal mouth…

    Reply
  • 3. Laura  |  July 24, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    Hey Guinever! Both my boys have had braces now… Brent had them the whole year of 2006 and has been in a retainer since January (that goes away at the end of this year). Aaron got braces early this year to move one single molar that was coming in funky in the back… otherwise he wouldn’t have needed any “phase one” treatment at all. He just has the braces in the top and back of his mouth, so you can’t even see them without specifically looking for them.

    The braces sure made a huge difference for Brent — he may still need some later treatment when he’s 11 or 12 or so, but the way they do things at the earlier ages nowadays, they can accomplish more in less time I think. Our experience with braces has been all good so far. I assume you go to White/Greer/Maggard since you probably got your referral from Dr. Rider? They are awesome.

    Brent always liked to change the colors on his bands, too. He wanted his braces to “stand out,” and they sure did!

    Reply
  • 4. Heather  |  July 31, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Yeah, I can see how you wouldn’t be crazy about yellow rubber bands on his teeth. Alex’s teeth look great, by the way!

    Reply
  • 5. Josiana  |  August 13, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    Oh, he looks wonderful. I wish that had happened to me. My mouth is too small and they pulled 4 permanent teeth when I was a couple years older than Alex. When I was 29 I had to have TMJ surgery because my jaws were not aligned correctly all because of the missing teeth.

    Josiana

    Reply
  • 6. justin  |  January 22, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    i am getting braces and i am 8 but, i dont know what colour i should get i am a boy and my favorite colours are red blue and green

    Reply
  • 7. seffa  |  December 5, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    you can get more that one color at a time! you could get red and blue, blue and green, green and red, or all three at the same time! i am twelve and getting braces in a few days, i think i’ll get pink and green

    Reply
  • 8. maria lincoln  |  April 17, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    i am 16 and had my braces for about 9 months now,,, and i have the “W” mouth piece and now the band which is attached 2 the w wire has come loose and has snapped?? i have 2 w8 4 days 2 get it fixed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

