will somebody please just empty my rosie?

March 16, 2007 at 11:15 am 3 comments

We’ve lived at our house in Lexington, KY for almost nine years. For nine years, we have been rolling our herbie and rosie and in the right season, the lenny containers to our curb every Sunday night. Well, actually my husband does it. Thanks, honey. We’ve never had a problem with these containers being emptied every Monday morning until recently.

Whose idea was it anyway to name all these solid waste containers? I remember when the city was considering names for the lenny. My favorite was charlie the composter, but we got stuck with lenny the lawnhand. Anyway, I digress.

We have a recurring problem. My rosie wasn’t picked up this week. They’re forgetting our house–this is the 3rd time recently. And one week it was both the herbie and rosie that stayed full.
Tuesday morning at 9:15
. I called Lexcall. I looked on the website to see if I could call solid waste directly but there are no separate phone numbers. C put in a work order in and said the Rosie would be picked up that day. I waited and waited but no truck came to empty my rosie.

Wednesday a little after noon. my rosie was still full so I called Lexcall and requested to be transferred to solid waste. The lady wouldn’t transfer me. She said they field all of solid waste’s calls. She had a very irritating sticky sweet, fake manner about her. I politely told her the whole story. She listened then said she would put a work order in and my rosie would be emptied the next day. I told her this was unacceptable. I had been told the day before that it would be picked up on Tuesday, now she said it wouldn’t be picked up til Thursday. She told me there were no call trucks out now. They were done for the day. I told her I pay my taxes and that my rosie was supposed to be picked up on Monday every week…she transferred me. I talked with A, the dispatcher and she discovered that my request had been coded wrong. Instead of emptying my rosie, they thought I needed a new rosie. She said she would fix the coding, and the man who does the call truck gets in at 6 am and that he would come and empty my rosie.

Thursday morning at 7 o’clock  I sent one of the boys outside to peek into the rosie to see if it’s been emptied. It has not. I go outside myself at 8 am. I keep doing this hourly. I am trying to be patient. I don’t want to call lexcall once again and be a nag.

Thursday 1 P.M. My rosie is still full. Certainly, there weren’t that many missed rosies (well, probably there were) that it would take him 5 hours to go around the city. So I decide it should have definitely been emptied by now. I call and talk with D. Now, D is the first person over there that I feel cares about my situation. I was going to ask her to look at a map so I could explain why our house was being missed. It wasn’t going to be enough just get my rosie emptied today. We needed to fix the Monday problem. The drivers who come down my street need to empty my solid waste containers, all my containers, every Monday morning. Anyway, she looks up my call. It was still coded incorrectly. A didn’t change the coding the day before. I was still in the computer as needing a new rosie. It’s too late to get it emptied today. The driver has already gone home. You’ve got to be kidding me! You have got to be kidding me. My husband wants the option to opt out of the city service (not pay the taxes) and have a private pick-up. Anyway, D tells me the driver will be in at 10:00 the next morning. OK. Please tell me that my rosie will be emptied. Please come and empty my rosie. And bring me that new one too because if you guys don’t start emptying my rosie, I’m going to need a new one, I’m going to need a new one every week.

Friday 11 A.M. My rosie is still full. I call Lexcall. I ask to be transferred to solid waste. She won’t do it. These lexcall 311 people are really getting on my nerves. They don’t know anything about anything. They just write everything down (or they write down as little as possible) and pass it on. It is their job to keep everyone on the phone and avoid transferring them to the real people who can really help them. So I told her that I want to make sure that I am on the list to have my rosie picked up today. She asked for my address. She looked it up told me that my rosie pickup is for Mondays. I did a really good job of restraining myself here. I didn’t want to take the time to tell her the whole long story. Please just transfer me to solid waste. Thank you. So I talked with A in solid waste again. She radioed the driver. I am on the list. He will empty my rosie sometime between 12 and 1 o’clock.

12:15 My rosie is full. Still waiting. I’ll keep you updated.

12:32 I just took a big garbage full of recycables to the rosie. The top on the rosie is sticking way up, so now I just have to look out my window to see if it’s been emptied. When the top is down, I’ll know it’s been emptied.

12:52 still waiting

1:23 The rosie is still full. I’m off to call solid waste again. She said the driver would empty it between 12 and 1. They’re 23 minutes late.

1:28 My rosie is empty. hurray! While I was on the phone, holding for the most helpful person, “D,” the truck pulled up. The man in the orange jumpsuit even wheeled my rosie up, putting it next to the deck, getting it off the curb. Now that’s service. Thanks. Now please empty it again before noon on Monday. If not, watch out. I’ll be calling you again.

Entry filed under: life, rants.

water in a vase “little boys and bandaids”

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  March 16, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    Hi Guinever. 🙂 Aren’t those city workers something else? We have had private pickup ever since we moved to Southpoint – we had no choice, because even though we live inside the Lexington city limits (and, I am nearly certain, pay the taxes for it) we do not have city pickup available. Anyway, we miss things like having twice a week garbage pickup… that sure is handy sometimes when the trash is flowing out of the house… but I will say this… Rumpke always, always, ALWAYS comes and picks up. I think in the 7 years we’ve been here they have changed a pickup day maybe once or twice… they generally work all the time, even holidays that other companies take off. And we’ve had special requests now and then for certain things to be picked up that were out of the ordinary, and never had a problem. So… yay rah Rumpke! Boo hiss Lexington Solid Waste flunkies.

    Dear Laura,

    If we could, we would definitely opt out of city service and go with private. The thing with a real business is that they have to empty your garbage. If what happened to me happened with local xyz trash pickup, I would just call local abc trash pickup and switch my business. Know what I mean? And on the week that the city missed both containers, when I called Tuesday, they said they’d empty on Thursday. Didn’t happen. Because the next Monday was a holiday (not for normal people, just government workers), we had to wait til Wednesday for pickup. so we had to go 2 weeks between pickups. Hello, we’re a family of six who fills both the herbie and rosie every week. Oh, and by the way, since you moved to Southpoint, the city streamlined trash pick-up to only once a week. That is actually fine with me, if they would actually pick it up once a week.

    talk to ya later, Guinever

    Reply
  • 2. Heather  |  March 21, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    What a nightmare! I’ve heard other locals say they’ve had problems with getting their Rosies picked up. Also a few people who say they’ve seen the garbage truck dump recyclables from the Rosie into the garbage truck. Fortunately, we’ve not had any problems with trash pick-up since we moved to our new house.

    Reply
  • 3. Gma VC  |  April 9, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    All garbage pick up is private here. We do not become attached in any way to our solid waste so we do not give cute names to our cans. We love our trash man! Mom VC

    P.S. I loved your story!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

