POP goes my heart

March 8, 2007 at 5:04 pm 1 comment

When I saw the trailers for the movie, “Music and Lyrics,” starring Hugh Grant and Drew Barrymore, Todd looked over at me and laughed and said “That’s your kind of movie.” He also said that he would never be going to see it. And he felt sorry for all the guys who would be sitting next to their wives or girlfriends at this typical chic flick/date movie.

But then he surprised me a few days later with a babysitter, dinner and a movie. “Music and Lyrics” opens with an 80’s style video. Todd and I couldn’t stop laughing at the video. Even with my limited exposure to pop culture as a teenager, I figured out that they were imitating the group that starts with a “w” and rhymes with ham. The reason it’s so hilarious is because they do an excellent job of the parody–the song and video could have actually been made in the 80’s. The video is so bad that it is good. The things that are bad are the

  • big hair
  • cheesy choreography
  • all the guys wearing white
  • lots of outfit changes
  • jumping back and forth between colorful sets and a storyline
  • fake backgrounds–sunset, rainbow, ocean

Do I recommend the movie? Sure. It’s an hour and a half where you can sit back and turn your mind off and enjoy a romantic comedy. I wouldn’t take my kids to see it. You can watch the video below, complements of you tube.

Entry filed under: everyday life.

pictures of Caleb at basketball just some stuff about the kids

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. amy  |  May 1, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    okay- i would just like to say that i think you are amazing at this blog thing. i would never in my wildest be able to put youtube on my blog site. But then… i don’t have a blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

