glimpse into the chaos

January 23, 2007 at 6:06 am 3 comments

When I went out for coffee recently with two friends who don’t have children yet, one of them said, “I don’t know how you do it.”

“Who says I’m doing it? I had one goal today. I just wanted to get the ornaments off my Christmas tree. I couldn’t even finish that. Everytime I thought I had a free minute, the baby would cry…I can’t even fold a load of laundry and put it away in one sitting.”

One of the ladies asked me if she could come over the next day for a few hours so I could take down my Christmas tree. Yes, yes, yes! I even got to take a long bath while she was here. At one point, I was resting in bed, nursing the baby. It was weird because I was getting a glimpse of my life by listening to what was going on in the next room. No wonder I think I’m going crazy sometimes.

My friend sat at the table playing monopoly with my boys, ages 5 and 7. My toddler chattered and chattered and chattered. She had to go potty. Then she wanted to read a book. Then she wanted a drink. Then she wanted to get up. Then she wanted to get down. Then she had to go potty again. And she wanted to know what everything was. All this while the monopoly game went on. Explaining rules. Diverting fights. Rolling the dice. Playing banker. No wonder why I crave silence. And my friend didn’t get the full experience because I had the baby with me.

Entry filed under: homeschooling, kids, parenting, toddlers.

“What does a dart gun have to do with the government?” recipe for fabulous homemade bread

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ellen  |  January 23, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    Glad I’m not the only one “not doing it”, I love your honesty!

    Reply
  • 2. Elaine  |  January 28, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    Hang in there! I don’t know of any homeschooling mom with a toddler and a baby who would claim to have it all together! It takes a special kind of grace and courage. Keep up the good work- I love reading your blog!

    Reply
  • 3. karla  |  January 30, 2007 at 4:11 am

    I’m so glad that you got that look at your life. I hope it brings freedom and a lot of grace for yourself! You are a great mom, an excellent teacher and a wonderful friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

