“What does a dart gun have to do with the government?”

January 19, 2007 at 8:13 pm 1 comment

Alex saw this dart gun in a store flyer and he wanted to buy it for $29.99. He thought it was a really good deal since it was normally $39.99 (according to the ad copy). He wanted to take $30 out of his bank account. I explained to him that he would actually need more than $30, because of the sales tax. When I started explaining what tax is, he said, “What does a dart gun have to do with the government?”

I laughed and laughed. That was a very good question! He was willing to pay $30, but he didn’t think it was worth $31.80. He asked me if I could pay the tax for him.

“After all, $1.80 wasn’t very much, and you can afford it,” he said. I said no. (I wasn’t going to let him buy this toy anyway.) He continued talking about how he wanted this gun, but he wasn’t going to pay almost $32 for it. Then he said, “I’ve had second thoughts about it; I don’t want the gun. It’s not worth it. … Oh, maybe we can pay the tax out of this jar.”

“Umm, no,” I said.

He cut out the picture of the NERF gun, folded it up and put it in his pocket. Side note here: Did you know that NERF is an ancronym for “non-expanding recreational foam?” Neither did I until about a minute ago.

When Todd came home from work, Alex pulled the paper out of his pocket to show his dad. Todd told him to take a look around the yard at the various squirt guns, some of which were broken. He said, these guns just cost $1, and the one you want costs $30. It will probaby break just as easily as these cheaper ones. Alex realized that it probably wasn’t a good idea to spend so much on a toy gun even if he did really want it.

Entry filed under: homeschooling, kids.

a girl with a purse and a hat: a flashback glimpse into the chaos

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. papa  |  January 19, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Funny stuff. Good lesson, Alex!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

