recipe for ham rolls: the invited guest for every dinner party

December 20, 2006 at 4:59 pm 4 comments

“Ham rolls: the uninvited guest at every dinner party,” said my husband when I told him I was going to make them for the Christmas party we were hosting.

“Uninvited guest!! ?? What are you talking about? Lots of people love ham rolls,” I replied.

I learned how to make them from my mom because she takes them to family and church gatherings and now I do the same. After seeing these appetizers disappear at the party, my husband changed his mind and decided that the ham rolls were invited afterall. The easy recipe follows:

Ingredients:

  • ham, sliced about thin to medium at the deli– If your ham is too thin, it will rip easily and if it’s too thick, it won’t roll. I prefer honey ham.
  • block of cream cheese, softened–if you use the kind that comes in a tub, it gets mushy and the rolls won’t retain their shape very well
  • green onions with spiky ends cut off

  • Spread cream cheese onto a ham slice. Do this slowly and carefully or the ham might rip.
  • Then cut an onion the size of your ham slice. Place on one end of the ham and roll tightly.
  • repeat until you have as many as you want
  • refrigerate for awhile for best results before slicing
  • slice about half an inch to an inch thick and arrange on plate for serving. I usually cut a little bit off each end and save for later because the ends don’t make the best presentation.

If you enjoyed reading this, you might like an ode to my mixer.

Entry filed under: christmas, cooking, entertaining, recipes.

come to Earth Mary and marshmallow cream

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alisa Beatty  |  December 22, 2006 at 12:34 am

    Glad Todd has come around – they’re yummy!

    Reply
  • 2. Brian  |  January 22, 2007 at 5:46 am

    hmmm. like kentucky sushi.

    Reply
  • 3. Samuel  |  December 19, 2007 at 8:46 am

    Boy Todd, you were almost on the ‘bad’ list to shuck mom’s ham rolls! yummy! keep cookin’ Sis.

    your brother

    Reply
  • 4. Jessica  |  June 20, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    instead of onion we use a slice of a pickle 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

