an ode to my mixer

November 24, 2006 at 4:17 pm 1 comment

I’ve used the cinnamon colored beauty several times a week since it came to live on my kitchen counter in March. But my KitchenAid stand mixer has never gotten more use than in the past 2 days for Thanksgiving. It mixed and kneaded my dinner rolls. A quick rinse and it was combining the ingredients for pecan pie. Then it was whirling my sweet potatoes into a gooey mess with cream cheese and brown sugar . The next day, a few seconds on speed #2 and I had perfect smashed potatoes. And the grande finale was whipping up the heavy whipping cream to put on top of pie. One of the best parts of using a stand mixer is being able to do something else at the same time. Wow. I actually left the room while my whipping cream was getting thick. With a hand mixer, I’d have to stand holding the mixer for a very long time, scraping the bowl, constantly switching hands because my arm would get tired. Not so with the KitchenAid stand mixer! And my husband was impressed with the cream. He said it stood at attention.

Acquiring my mixer has a history. When I first married my wonderful husband 14 years ago, I wanted one. I saw them in stores and in ads. But they were too expensive. Then I started to hope I’d find one at a garage sale. I found lots of other great deals, but never a mixer. Then I opened up my paper and saw a great feature article on bargain hunting at garage sales. There in the photo spread was a huge picture of the small appliance I always wanted. This reporter, probably never having been to a garage sale before in her life, found MY mixer that I had been searching for over the course of 10 years and in 3 states. Life was definitely not fair. On one of my morning hunts, I hopped out of the van and spotted a kitchen aid stand mixer box under a table. I walked, almost ran, to grab the box before anyone else saw it. But the contents were not the same as what the box advertised. This lady had just bought a new mixer like I wanted, and was getting rid of her very old one of a different brand in this new box. I was so not interested and so very disappointed once again. Oh well.

Then my husband decided he was going to buy me one. I don’t remember if it was for my birthday or Christmas or whatever. He just wanted to know what model and color I wanted, so I told him. But then when he went to the store, he decided it was too big to stay on our kitchen counter and it was too heavy to store away and get out when I needed it. Oh well. He was right. Our counter space was so limited that we didn’t even keep our microwave in the kitchen.

This spring we remodeled the kitchen with counter space galore and when the kitchen was all done, I ordered a stand mixer from Amazon and got it the next day. I love this mixer!!

Entry filed under: cooking, everyday life, thanksgiving.

where’s your turkey? ouch

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  December 6, 2006 at 1:22 pm

    My mother just got her first kitchen Aid mixer after 52 years of marriage. I certainly hope I don’t have to wait that long. 🙂 She loves it. (so do I.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

