where’s your turkey?

November 23, 2006 at 8:43 am 1 comment

So where’s  your turkey?  Mine is in the fridge ready to be stuffed.  The sausage stuffing is as ready as I can get it tonight. Everyone is sleeping except me and the noisy cricket in my wall.  It’s late and I’ve been working on my new blog for a little while.  The homemade ice cream is setting up in the freezer.  The pecan pie is cooling atop the stove.  I’ve never made a pecan pie before.  My husband likes pecan pie so I thought I thanksgiving.jpgshould bake one. My Pillsbury cookbook has never let me down so it should turn out ok.  The sweet potatoes, rolls, corn pudding, and beans are all ready to pop in the oven.  I’ll do the mashed potatoes and gravy in the morning.  And the M&M’s are in the painted turkey my Grandma made during her ceramics phase in the seventies.

This photo was taken last Thanksgiving.  Liz folded the napkins–of course it wasn’t me. Move over Martha, make room for my sister!  Anyone who knows me might realize that I don’t have the patience or the talent to stick napkins into wine glasses and make them look beautiful!  I was wondering today how I might do the napkins since she isn’t going to be at my table this year. Then I got a phonecall from my friend who will be here. She has lots of Thanksgiving paper products that she’d like to bring. Why sure, bring them.  Now I won’t have to iron the tablecloth and fold the napkins!  Although I’d prefer a more formal table than turkey plates and with paper napkins,  I am thankful for the time saved in using them, particularly since I have a newborn in my arms. 

Entry filed under: everyday life, thanksgiving.

scurvy and rations an ode to my mixer

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Coral Rose  |  November 23, 2006 at 1:58 pm

    I miss you. So much.
    My mom is putting in our turkey now (or, I guess it’s already in and she’s prepping other food.) I am in bed, having swallowed my strange medicines and am trying to fall back to sleep to recover from my strep throat (in combination with mono! I would have been happy with either sickness, but apparently my body was bored.)
    I love you. I pray for you all the time. Always. Coral Rose

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

