first receipts for my $100 a week grocery challenge

November 3, 2009 at 5:11 pm 7 comments

GF receipt

aldi receipt

grand total so far $94.08

I told you yesterday that I challenged myself to feeding my family of six on an average of $100 a week or $400 for the entire month of November. I still have a few things to buy this week:

  • coffee
  • rice syrup
  • coconut oil
  • tomato paste
  • tobasco sauce
  • pie crust or already made pie to take to our homeschool co-op’s feast

Just a couple of things to note about my receipts above. The apples from Aldis were $1.19 for 3 pounds. My apples from Good Food were $3.99 for 3 pounds for little J who can’t have the apples from Aldi because he had an allergic reaction to the wax coating on them.   The nutty nuggets from Aldi is a cereal I haven’t tried before. Probably no one will like it plain, but I thought I could add it to granola, oatmeal or meatloaf. You get the idea.  I thought ninety-nine cents for 24 ounces of cereal with no fluff in it was pretty cheap so I grabbed a box.

tip of the day; buy spices in bulk

Did you notice my lemon pepper from Good Food?  That’s a spice that runs $20.99 pound.  That may sound like a lot, but it’s much less than buying the little spice jars from the grocery store.  I paid $1.26 for a yummy organic spice that would have cost 3 or 4 times that if I had bought a jar from the baking aisle at the grocery store.  Plus, buying in bulk makes them much fresher and there is no msg, fillers, preservatives or other junk.  Buying your spices from bulk bins is a great way to save money. So if you don’t already do this, keep your empty spice jars and just fill them up. If you’re local to me, go to Good Food (much bigger and wider selection than Whole Food when it comes to spices.)

on making menus and shopping lists

Several of the frugal sites online about cutting grocery bills recommend making a list, making a menu and sticking to it. I’ve tried this in the past, but this just doesn’t work for me.   When I menu plan, it takes extra time, then I’m buying ingredients at a non sale price just to fit my menu (I know you can plan menus with sales fliers in hand that help with this.)

What works for me is having a list of the staples that I’m running low on, and stocking up on them when they’re at a good price. For example, I might buy 3 jars of mayonnaise at $1.99 each instead of running out and then having to buy a jar for over $4 which is the normal price at my stores.  I keep a sharp eye out for the brightly colored yellow or orange  “manager markdown” stickers.   These aren’t advertised sales. These are clearance prices on meat and produce or discontinued items marked down to half price or less.  (some stores only mark down 20%)

You can read my tips for shopping at Aldi which I wrote before I started making my own laundry detergent.

Entry filed under: food, grocery shopping. Tags: .

shopping tips for a corn allergy Tuesday menu

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NancyG  |  November 3, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    That Guinevere, she rocks! :)

    Reply
  • 2. Alexis Cinnamond Pullen  |  November 3, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    I shop at Aldi mostly for dairy and some produce, but find that a lot of their store brands don’t taste great. Seems that you bought a lot of “whole foods” from them, which is mostly what I do, but my average bill there is about $13. I think I once spent $30 there and was shocked that it was possible. Do you find their meat to be a of good quality? I think I’ve only bought some ground beef there once, and it was fine.

    Reply
  • 3. guinever  |  November 3, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    I really like their pork steaks which run about $2.39 a pound. I used to buy those a lot. They’re great on the grill and also baked in the oven with apple and onion. I like their hams too but skip the glaze packet. I didn’t buy these this week because J is allergic to pork. I wouldn’t touch their cereals. Back in the day when I didn’t realize how bad canned veggies were, I used to get canned peas, corn, and beans from them too.

    Also, not sure what you buy for $13 or how long that will last you, but for me Aldi is on the other side of town so I stock up on some things and won’t go there every week.

    Reply
  • 4. teatimewithliz  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    You mentioned canned veggies… Are you just referring to the store bought cans with all the additives?? I plan to do a lot of home canning and preserving next year with fresh produce. I was just wondering if there is something bad about that process, even in my own kitchen. I know you do loose a lot of the nutrients that you would have in the fresh produce.

    Reply
    • 5. Guinever  |  November 4, 2009 at 9:17 am

      Lizzie,
      Yes I was referring to canned veggies from the store. I wasn’t even thinking about home canning when I made that remark. Freezing is nutritionally a better option than canning but not everyone has a freezer available.

      Reply
  • 6. Diane  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Your Aldi seems to have better prices than ours here in the KC area. Ground Turkey here is $1.29. I buy my spices in bulk from http://www.penzeys.com. We have a store here locally. There stuff is so fresh and so much cheaper in bulk as well. I don’t know about organic. I have found that buying whole foods really does help with the budget!

    Reply
  • 7. Karla  |  November 4, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    I’m in!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

