loving paperback swap

February 27, 2009 at 11:38 pm 3 comments

PaperBackSwap.com - Our online book club offers free books when you swap, trade, or exchange your used books with other book club members for free.WOW!  I love paperback swap. In case you’re not familiar with it, you post books online. Someone else can request one of your books and then you pay to mail  it to them via media mail. Then you get a book credit so you can request a book from someone else.

When you post your first 10 books, you automatically get 2 books credits to get you started.  The first night, I posted my 10 books. I browsed wish lists in a couple of genres and saw 2 books that I had on my shelf that I didn’t mind parting with. They were immediately requested from me.

I packed them up after printing out an easy to use, handy dandy label at PBS website.  Todd mailed them for me. He didn’t think it was that great of a deal to get a paperback for between 2 and 3 dollars (the cost of media mail postage.)  I told him that I would make a list of all the books we need for homeschooling and plan to buy in the next few months and that he could feel free to go find them for under $2 each. Heck, I dare him to get them for under $5, under $7, depending on the title.

Our days of browsing in big and little bookstores downtown Chicago and getting paperbacks for 25 or 50 cents are over!

I don’t know if the number of books that people have requested in relation to how many I’ve posted is a fluke, but I’ve had 12 requests already and we’ve found five that are on their way to us right now!  I found 3 books that  I need for school, plus an audio book read by Jim Weiss who is a favorite around here, and Todd even found a book that he’s been wanting for awhile.  I told him to go browsing and request a book if he found one. When he was done,  he said, “Is that all?”

Yes, that’s all!  It’s that simple.

PBS makes it even more convenient because you can buy the postage and delivery confirmation online and it all prints out for you. No need to go to the post office unless your package weighs more than 13 ounces.

My observation of the day: If you decide to use delivery confirmation, buying it at the post office costs 75 cents. Buying it online so it prints on your shipping label costs 43 cents.

Check it out for yourself by clicking the logo above. If you have books you want to get rid of and/or you need some books, try it. You might like it. I did.

Entry filed under: education, homeschooling. Tags: .

happy birthday abby great deal on moody science dvds

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bobbi  |  February 28, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Wow! I didn’t not know about this. I’m off to check it out – thanks!

    Reply
  • 2. drew  |  March 14, 2009 at 12:35 am

    I’m sorry but swaptree.com is a far better designed website. paperbackswap is a little old fashioned.

    swaptree.com is brilliant!

    Reply
  • 3. dad  |  March 15, 2009 at 2:45 am

    If you use the Shipping Assistant from usps.com (which I left installed on your computer, registered with the wrong return address) to make your shipping label, the delivery confirmation is eighteen cents (or you can print the label directly on usps.com and buy the postage with a credit card at that time for the same prices)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


welcome

Welcome to my personal blog about my life as a wife and homeschooling mother of a few energetic children! You'll find my favorite recipes, all kinds of reviews, the occasional rant, and whatever else I feel like writing about.

My other blogs are
birthing with guinever
grieving with guinever
I hope you can relax and stay awhile.

what to read?

Ten homeschooling moms compiled these book lists:
1000 GOOD books
100 GREAT books

Archives

site meter

Homeschooling's
#1 Way to Save
You can join the homeschool buyer's co-op for free! They offer lots of group discounts for home educators.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

